Yes, I am very late to the game on this one. I would like to thank this book for giving me faith in middle grade fiction. If for some reason you’ve skipped this book (like big dumb Ingrid), hop to it. You won’t be sorry. It is rife with Lemony-Snicket-esque goodness:

When I was little, my mother used to say, “Oh, you’re so cute! Look at those little arms! Look at those little legs! Look at that little tookie!” (That was my mother’s word for my bottom.) And then she’d say, “I’m going to eat you up!” And she said it like she meant it.

Has your parent ever said something like that to you? Most parents say that kind of thing all the time, you know. It’s totally normal. Just be careful not to let them actually taste you.

~~A Tale Dark and Grimm by Adam Gidwitz, p. 44

The Brothers Grimm called her a witch, but nothing could be further from the truth. In fact, she was just a regular woman who had discovered, sometime around the birth of her second child, that while she liked chicken and she liked beef and she liked pork, what she really, *really* liked was *child*. (p. 44)

[source]

“Not hot enough in there!” the baker woman huffed. “Let me see!” She crawled into the oven, pushing Hansel out of the way. “Feels plenty hot to me!” she said. (p. 47).

[source]

~Love and Libraries, Ingrid

About magpielibrarian

Children's and Teen Librarian, Mediocre Crafter, Urban Magpie, Glitter Addict, and Worshiper of Ridiculous Outfits

Leave a Reply

