I’ve done a couple of “hot topic” displays in the Young Adult/Teen section: one on Gay Pride Month, a Banned Books Week display, one about Body Image, and one about Cat Calls and Street Harassment. I started to do a display concerning bullying, but the topic got me really upset and I’ll have to save it for another time. I’m too emotionally raw lately. I decided to switch it up a bit, as they say, and just do a dumb book joke display. Our color printer is running out of ink, so it only prints things in shades of blue. So, despite my best intentions to make a happy looking display, it’s downright gloomy. I had to throw out pictures of the Hulk because he looked like Violet Beauregarde on steroids (Get it? Because he was giant and blue? Nevermind).

This is what I came up with. I think some of the jokes will go straight over the kids’ and teens’ heads, but hopefully a hardcore book nerd will get a fraction of a laugh. Enjoy!

The view from behind the reference desk.

The view from behind the reference desk.

The view from in front of the reference desk.

The view from in front of the reference desk.

And now, some shots of the individual images:

Sorry if Wrecking Ball is stuck in your head for the rest of the day.

Sorry if Wrecking Ball is stuck in your head for the rest of the day.

A nod to Whovians or whatever you call them.

A nod to Whovians or whatever you call them.

Did you know Ron is my boyfriend? IT'S A FACT.

Did you know Ron is my boyfriend? IT’S A FACT.

No one's getting this one.

No one’s getting this one.

Why are Poe jokes funny to me?

Why are Poe jokes funny to me? Because I’m just a Poe boy from a Poe family?

RIP

Another one no one will get, but I like it.

Another one no one will get, but I like it.

I said ho.

Yeah. I said ho.

It's hard out here for a snitch.

It’s hard out here for a snitch.

The teens seem to like this one best. This kid has mad game, so I get it.

The teens seem to like this one best. This kid has mad game, so I get it.

Throwing shade at Poe.

Throwing shade at Poe.

I'm sorry! I just think they're so funny!

I’m sorry! I just think they’re so funny.

If teens don't get this, we have many fine dictionaries.

If teens don’t get this, we have many fine dictionaries.

Now, prepare yourself for my absolute favorite:

Aren't you glad you made it to the end of this post?

Aren’t you glad you made it to the end of this post?

I’m twelve.

~Love and Libraries, Ingrid

♥ Facebook ♥ Twitter ♥ Buy Me a Coffee ♥ Libraries Changed My Life ♥

About magpielibrarian

Children's Librarian, Library Advocate, Mediocre Crafter, Urban Magpie, Vegetarian, Glitter Addict, Thrifter, and Worshiper of Ridiculous Outfits

11 responses »

  1. Karen says:

    Hi, where did yu get the images from? I’d like to do something simliar!

  2. zbeforey says:

    That last one cracked me up, so I guess that makes me twelve, too.

  3. Fart jokes are funny at any age (sadly, maturity can only go so far) ;)
    I really like these, and it makes for interesting inspiration for what I can create with some of my other boards. The last librarian made them more “I’m awesome” mantras than anything… they’re all the same!

  4. Where’s Finnick? Odair he is. This one makes me guffaw. Seriously.

  5. Thank you for pointing my face here.

Leave a Reply

