Welcome to “I AM READING THIS SO HARD RIGHT NOW”

In this segment, I will be sharing spoiler-free notable quotables on books I am loving the hell out of. I don’t like writing summaries–I just want to share snippets to get you hooked and reading, too. It’s an appetizer, y’all!

At ALA Midwinter, I got to hear an excerpt of The List by Siobhan Vivian and it quickly climbed to the top of my ARCs pile.

 “She hoists her book bag onto her lap and pulls out her black marker from the front pouch. ‘Do me a favor. Write UGLY as big as you can across my forehead.’

Milo shrinks back. ‘Why would I do that? Why would you want to do that?’

Sarah stutters on an answer, and settles on, ‘Do it, Milo.’

The marker drags across her skin. As Milo writes the word, she glances at the upstairs windows in the second-floor bathroom. There are girls staring down at her; they know where to find her, so they’re checking to see if she’s heard yet. Sarah salutes them with the middle finger. ‘Make it as big as you can,’ she tells Milo.

The spicy scent of the ink makes her woozy. Or maybe it’s the anticipation. Milo caps the marker, and the click is like a movie clapboard. The show’s about to start.”

~~~The List , by Siobhan Vivian, pages 47-48.

This rad ass YA novel will be released in April of 2012. So, if your library lets you, put it on hold in advance. Or annoy your local bookseller into placing a copy aside for you. Or just bug another librarian for an ARC of it. I have yet to finish it, but I’m obsessed with what I’ve read so far. Visit Ms. Vivian and learn more about The List here.

~Love, Libraries, and the List, Ingrid

About magpielibrarian

Youth Services Librarian, Mediocre Crafter, Urban Magpie, Glitter Addict, and Worshiper of Ridiculous Outfits, Emerging Leader 2012, Former Rainbow Book List Member, and GLBT RT Director-at-Large! This is what a librarian looks like, kids.

Leave a Reply

