I love being a librarian, but I would be lying if I said that my job always filled me with sunshine and roses and visions of kitty cats and vegan cupcakes. Under-staffing, under-funding, difficult patrons, bureaucracy and just down-right cranky burnt-out days can bring a good librarian down. I do my very best to keep a smile on my face, though it’s not always easy. To combat a perpetual case of the grumps, I have several packages of this one fake tattoo (I’m afraid of needles):

I got this at SITE NYC in Astoria

[not my arm, source]

In addition, I have kids’ cards and drawings all over my (often-messy) desk to help me remember that I’m appreciated and that the work I do is important. There’s nothing like a rendering of your physical appearance in which your head is three times the size of your body to cheer you up. I mean it.

I obtained 50 thousand (number may be slightly off) small, white picture frames at Materials for the Arts and immediately came up with a craft for my library’s school-aged kiddos. School and the daily muckety-muck must get them down too, and I figured they could do will some DIY inspiration.

In addition to the frames, I cut out 50 thousand pictures of things I thought they might find inspiring or comforting:

This was a very popular class, but here are just a few of my favorite finished products:

Stickers added because I'm a dork.

Appreciate the Gaga-fication of J-lo

Never underestimate the unending appeal of Star Wars and dogs

Extra points for extra sparkles

It was a secret desire of Batman to be always surrounded by sequins

I don't get the appeal because I'm 50 thousand years old

Oddly, no one used this picture (please note my semi-veiled sarcasm):

C'mon, kids! You're killing me! WHO IS THIS?

When I quizzed the kids on who it was, the most common response was Michelle Obama.

headdesk

I had one frame that someone left behind. I dropped it on my supervisor’s desk and said nothing. It remained there for a long time:

I'm writing a book called 100 Ways to Confuse and Delight Your Boss

Love, libraries, and beLiebers, Ingrid

About magpielibrarian

Youth Services Librarian, Mediocre Crafter, Urban Magpie, Glitter Addict, and Worshiper of Ridiculous Outfits, Emerging Leader 2012, Former Rainbow Book List Member, and GLBT RT Director-at-Large! This is what a librarian looks like, kids.

Leave a Reply

