Welcome to “I AM READING THIS SO HARD RIGHT NOW”

In this segment, I like to share spoiler-free notable quotables on books I am loving the hell out of. Only sneaky bitches post spoilers and I am not a sneaky bitch. This is how I rock a review: I post a section of the book that really stuck with me or spoke to my soul or some stuff. I leave the summaries to book flaps and people who get paid to write reviews. Do I look like I get paid to write this? Hay-ell no.

I snagged an ARC of Potterwookiee: The Creature from my Closet at the Macmillan preview. I’m going to be honest: I didn’t read the first book in this series (bad librarian alert!). Have no fear though, fellow slacker librarians, the author, Obert Skye, totally makes sure that you’re up to speed. I’m reading this just fine, even having skipped the first book.

I’ve been reading this on the crowded Q train, and I see people reading this book over my shoulder. I get lots of weird looks–I’m clearly reading a kids’ book AND I keep breaking out into uncontrollable snorts and laughy-outburts. It’s clever and snarky and silly and sometimes gross and I can’t help myself. Q train passengers can eat it.

[source]

I realized that most of the little comics in this book make about zero sense out of context. For example, the drawing of the Principal saying “Progressive Rock Group” in air quotes makes me laugh like a dork, but I’m not sure how funny it is without the rest of the text. Instead, here’s two drawings that I like for being extra bookish:

This could easily go on a library advocacy poster.

Rowling as in bowling.

Anyway, file this under things to give the kids when they’re bugging you for the Diary of a Wimpy Kid books that you never have on the shelves. This is just as funny, but it comes with the added bonus of having Star Wars and Harry Potter references. Nerdtastic. Look for it in September of this year.

~Love and Libraries, Ingrid

About magpielibrarian

Youth Services Librarian, Mediocre Crafter, Urban Magpie, Glitter Addict, and Worshiper of Ridiculous Outfits, Emerging Leader 2012, Former Rainbow Book List Member, and GLBT RT Director-at-Large! This is what a librarian looks like, kids.

2 responses »

  1. And *ordered*. Thanks for the head’s up. 🙂

Leave a Reply

