Brush up your Shakespeare. Start quoting him now.

It’s I’ll Tumbl For Ya Tuesdays, where I raid other people’s Tumblrs for library/book-themed pictures so I don’t have to man up and write something. Today’s theme is Titania and Bottom from A Midsummer Night’s Dream, one of my favorite plays. I have several representations of these two characters around my apartment and I thought I’d go hunting for some new interpretations. Let’s do this together, shall we?

Come, sit thee down upon this flowery bed,
While I thy amiable cheeks do coy,
And stick musk-roses in thy sleek smooth head,
And kiss thy fair large ears, my gentle joy.

[source]

“Titania, Bottom and the Fairies” by Henry Fuseli

[source]

I’ve had this one up in my apartment for a thousand years.

[source]

Thou art as wise as thou art beautiful.

[source]

Out of this wood do not desire to go:
Thou shalt remain here, whether thou wilt or no.

[source]

Be kind and courteous to this gentleman;
Hop in his walks and gambol in his eyes;

[source]

Feed him with apricocks and dewberries,
With purple grapes, green figs, and mulberries;

[source]

The honey-bags steal from the humble-bees,
And for night-tapers crop their waxen thighs
And light them at the fiery glow-worm’s eyes,
To have my love to bed and to arise;

[source]

Bottom and Titania, James Cagney and Anita Louise in A Midsummer Night’s Dream, 1935

[source]

Nod to him, elves, and do him courtesies.

[source]

“Sleeping Sickness” by Mia Araujo

[source]

Marc Chagall’s Midsummer Night’s Dream

[source]

Alright, hunties. Enough of that. Onward to ALA Annual. Don’t mess it up!

~Love and Libraries, Ingrid

About magpielibrarian

Youth Services Librarian, Mediocre Crafter, Urban Magpie, Glitter Addict, and Worshiper of Ridiculous Outfits, Emerging Leader 2012, Former Rainbow Book List Member, and GLBT RT Director-at-Large! This is what a librarian looks like, kids.

2 responses »

  1. steph says:

    Lovely round-up. I love all of these- though especially the second to last. A baroque fairy tale with a lap full of macarons- how dreamy!

Leave a Reply

