I enjoy pictures and lists because I have a very short attention span. 

♥ Ingrids roam wild and free during fall! I love fall! Stupid hot sweaty summer making my hair all dumb and unmanageable. Stupid humidity! Stupid sauna-like office. I’m ready for autumn. So, it’s still 80 something degrees, but I don’t care. It’s time for:

PUMPKIN BEER!

Don’t you dare judge me! Pumpkin pie soda is amazing. When I can find it, I freak out. So good.

Haus of Gloi’s Pumpkin Eater Perfume: Cream, glowing pumpkin, rich vanilla bean and the tiniest touch of nutmeg butter.

ERMAGERD!

It’s almost time for Halloween. EEE! Best holiday ever.

♥ Look! It’s Urban Librarians Unite‘s very own Lauren Comito and her badass librarian tattoo!

We will not be shushed!

Lauren Comito…got this lovely silhouette of a woman shushing noisy patrons.

While it seems like the icon merely represents the stereotypical librarian, it actually has far more meaning to Ms. Comito. After discovering that big budget cuts in her library system would mean she would be laid off, she created the image as a protest that library supporters won’t be silenced in the fight to keep their local branches open. She made hundreds of tees and organized a protest that resulted in most of the branch’s funding being restored. After that, it seemed only fitting to get the icon tattooed on her body. If you like the image, you can buy one of the shirts bearing the icon, which will also help support the fight to keep NYC public libraries open for years to come.

I also liked this tattoo, also featured on Mental Floss:

♥ Check out my new favorite blog, Decaying Hollywood Mansions. This is so my jam.

Harry Earles & Olga Baclanova for Tod Browning’s Freaks, 1932

More to be found on their Facebook page, which gets shut down from time to time for “inappropriate material”.

♥ This post by the Militant Baker.

Love

Creature Type’s Antique Mall Adventures. I covet all these vintage finds:

♥ Am I as clever as Jenna? Can I make this beautiful cake stand without accidentally gluing my face to the table? Also, holy expert frosting, Batman.

Agent Lover’s Nailz Week Icons: Showgirls! This whole post made me irrationally happy.

Nomi Malone. She’s from different places.

♥ I’m craving screen-screened patches. I want to affix them to everything with safety pins like the fake punk that I am. These are all from Etsy and link to the shop.

If you don’t know what this movie is, your life has no meaning.

♥ Also from Etsy, this masterpiece:

Hey! My birthday is on the 21st of this month. Hint. Hint.

♥ Toddler Drive-In Movie! As soon as I saw this, I emailed my coworkers and told them that we *have* to do this. How cute! I’m dying. I die.

All we need is a little toddler waitress in roller skates.

♥ How cute (there’s that word again. Sorry!) is Amy’s (from The Show Me Librarian ) Mad Hatter Tea Party?

And the momeraths outgrabe.

If you don’t wear a fancy hat to a party, you’re not even trying.

Guess who is SUPER close to having a whole week off? NOT SUSAN LUCCI! This chick! Me, Ingrid!

~Love and Libraries, Ingrid

About magpielibrarian

Youth Services Librarian, Mediocre Crafter, Urban Magpie, Glitter Addict, and Worshiper of Ridiculous Outfits, Emerging Leader 2012, Former Rainbow Book List Member, and GLBT RT Director-at-Large! This is what a librarian looks like, kids.

2 responses »

  1. Ermagerd! It’s Amy at The Show Me Librarian. 😉 And you’re right – her Mad Hatter Tea Party is super cute!!! (I just find it hilarious because people call me Amy all the time… I always wondered if people mixed up Amys, too…)

    Enjoy your Staycation! 😀

  2. YAY! Thanks for showing my painting;)

Leave a Reply

