Staycation! All I ever wanted!

Commence week off from work! I haven’t had real time off since I started at my new library. I’m taking off the week of my birthday. Sometimes my brain has a hard time slowing down and existing outside of work. Here comes the week where I try to remember that I’m not a human toddler jungle gym and there’s something to me besides being a librarian.

I love lists. I need them to help me remember what to do. If I don’t write it down, I’ll spend the whole week in my underoos picking my nose and eating vegan ice cream for breakfast (which all in all doesn’t sound too bad, really).

This vacation, I vow to:

♥ Read. A lot.

♥ Write. A lot.

♥ Cook for Tim, because he always cooks for me.

♥ Cuddle kitties. As much as humanly possible.

Lila cat! Hopping her way into your heart.

♥ Clean this apartment. Because it’s scary, yo.

♥ Dye my hair compulsively as to look like an Easter egg as much as possible.

♥ Listen to my records. Really listen. I have so many that I haven’t really paid enough attention to.

♥ Drink coffee outside.

Go to the sculpture garden.

Why can’t we be friends?

Really just too handsome.

♥ Make stuff. Cover stuff in glitter.

♥ Watch documentaries.

♥ Celebrate my birthday without freaking out. I love other people’s birthdays, but my own are terrifying.

What do you like to do on your staycations?

~Love and (life outside the) Libraries, Ingrid

About magpielibrarian

Youth Services Librarian, Mediocre Crafter, Urban Magpie, Glitter Addict, and Worshiper of Ridiculous Outfits, Emerging Leader 2012, Former Rainbow Book List Member, and GLBT RT Director-at-Large! This is what a librarian looks like, kids.

9 responses »

  1. Gosh. We really are alike. Sounds like my idea of a PERfect vacation. Enjoy it! You deserve it!

  2. Sarah says:

    Add some bedazzling to that glitter! Enjoy every moment of your staycation! And happy birthday!!

  3. I took a day off the other day to do homework – not quite a staycation, but I did take the time to make muffins! (I like to bake on staycation/snow days/etc). Hope you enjoy your time away from the library!

  4. Jenna says:

    I love your Thor shirt!

  5. Really hoping that your stay-cation is everything you want it to be, plus a lot of awesomeness thrown in for good measure. That being said, anything that involves glittering is always good. And, happy birthday, you Rock Star!

Leave a Reply

