I was originally going to make this post super duper long, listing every person, fictional or otherwise, whose fashion I covet. However, that post was getting crazy batshit bananas out of control tldr-y so I decided to break it up. Too much fabulous on one page will ruin you. It would destroy us all.

I don’t really know what I dress like. I’m surrounded by people who are pretty consistent in their style concept, and I can’t say I’m not a little jealous. I devour a lot of fashion blogs, old movies, and books and this makes me constantly reevaluate how I want to look. I’m very impressionable. I like pouring through lookbooks or obsessing over Esther Williams movies and nearly everything I see, I want. I typically wear lots of color as I already experienced my all-black clothing phase early on in high school. Other than that, I love square dancing clothes and spikes and glitter and pastels and giant shoes and huge jewelry and raw gemstones and skinny jeans and corsages and circle skirts and sequins and scout uniforms and bamboo earrings and Peter Pan collars and and ripped up t-shirts and leopard print and red lipstick and scarves and things with cats on them. I basically look like a birthday cake, complete with sparklers and plastic figurines, threw up all over me.

I don’t see a lot of  people bopping around that look like me, even in a big old weird city like New York. But, there are plenty of people whose style I really admire. I’m going to start with doll-like little Bernadette Peters as Marie in The Jerk. 

Oh, the perfect porcelin princess-dom of Bernadette Peters. Her angelic voice and cotton candy hair! She’s magic. How can you not love her?

First of all, these glasses. I MEAN.

And this teeny little dress! Eeee!

I do not understand this boob rhinestone, but I respect it:

If you haven’t seen this, you’re welcome. Don’t say I never did anything for you:

We should all be able to rock a satin sailor cap so well.

Wait. OK. Hold on. Dance number!

I need to re-enact that ASAP.

OK, tune in next time for Maude from Harold and Maude. Think milkmaid braids, sunflowers, and kimonos.

~Love and Libraries, Ingrid

About magpielibrarian

Youth Services Librarian, Mediocre Crafter, Urban Magpie, Glitter Addict, and Worshiper of Ridiculous Outfits, Emerging Leader 2012, Former Rainbow Book List Member, and GLBT RT Director-at-Large! This is what a librarian looks like, kids.

Leave a Reply

