I think we can all agree that Ruth Gordon is always bringing it and the rest of us just pale in comparison. I’m not going to talk about that movie she’s in with Clint Eastwood and that monkey or whatever because I just cannot be bothered. Let’s just focus on Harold and Maude and Rosemary’s Baby, shall we?

Harold and Maude is one of my favorite movies (other than Showgirls, but there’s no fashion inspiration there, just cautionary tales). The first time I saw it in college, I laughed my ass off, cried like a little bitch, yelled at my friend for making me watch it, vowed to never watch it again and then proceeded to view it again. And again. When I showed the movie to my college boyfriend and he didn’t like it or get it, I think that’s when I knew that he totally didn’t understand ANYTHING AT ALL.

But, if the dark humor and Cat Stevens soundtrack don’t appeal to you, you’re clearly a horrible person, but in any case, you should just watch it for Ruth Gordon’s impeccable older-manic-pixie-dream girl style. I wholely support Ruth Gordon’s milkmaid braids.

“Don’t get so officious, you’re not yourself when you’re officious. That’s the curse of a government job.”
Your fashion game sucks because your outfit doesn’t match the room. 
I wish I had a better shot of this kimono and that magnificent hair doo-dad…

I cannot handle it when she tears up. It breaks my heart into tiny pieces. Is she not perfect?

She brings her “watch out for that old, short lady” steez to Rosemary’s Baby, as well, which you might as well rewatch right now because it’s the best Halloween movie. I mean, yeah, Mia Farrow gives great, iconic hair in this, but she just doesn’t deliver like Ruth does.

First of all, we should all look this great in our babushkas with circle rouge on our faces, but we don’t.

Ding dong! Tannis root delivery.

He chose you, honey! From all the women in the world to be the mother of his only living son!

I could name at least 7 people I’d smack in the mouth to get my grubby little fingers on this flower/veil/hat combo.

Also, Ruth Gordon as Minnie Castevet sports some gorgeous semi-psychedelic prints. Sort of a Satanic Sympathizer Clown Chic.

People need to recognize how epic this hat is.

I honestly got kind of choked up posting these pictures. Ruth Gordon was just so lovely. I even came across some pictures of her as a youngin’ and they took my breath away:

I don’t understand how anyone wouldn’t love her. #monoclerealness

Need further convincing of her tremendous wonderfulness? Check this video of her Oscar’s acceptance speech. This dress is spectacular! And so is she. I love the cadence of her voice. Charming! I cannot stop gushing about Little Miss Ruth Gordon.

Who are your personal fashion icons?

~Love and Libraries, Ingrid

About magpielibrarian

Youth Services Librarian, Mediocre Crafter, Urban Magpie, Glitter Addict, and Worshiper of Ridiculous Outfits, Emerging Leader 2012, Former Rainbow Book List Member, and GLBT RT Director-at-Large! This is what a librarian looks like, kids.

2 responses »

  1. Wow! The audience shots when they list the nominees = so serious! zero smiles.

Leave a Reply

