Me as sorta Tippi Hedren from The Birds.

Urban Librarians Unite zombie walk. That’s me in the coffin with fellow zombies Rita Meade (Screwy Decimal), Lauren Comito, and Tim Conley (Aproposzine).

I AM A WEIRD GIRL AND THEREFORE AM MAJOR INTO HALLOWEEN. It is the only holiday that I bother to take off from work (OK, and also Valentine’s Day, which I also really dig). I’ve been watching the Buffy Halloween episodes and horror movies and making horror pathfinders and displays for the teen room and getting together two YES two separate Halloween costumes.

I was very excited to receive some scary kids books from Scholastic, along with some news about All Hallow’s Read. I’d explain the event, but I’m not as handsome as Neil Gaiman, so I’ll just let him do it:

I’ve decided to participate by creating a Halloween-themed quiz for kids grades 4-6 (I’ll post the quiz later, should you want to use it). Those kiddos who get 6 out of 10 or more questions right will be entered in a raffle to win a bundle of scary chapter books. I’m using the books I received from Scholastic (which include The Graveyard Book and Coraline), as well as other books we have hanging around our workroom.

My plan includes minimal use of staff and time. My favorite kind of program! I’m hoping this is a yearly event.

What do you think of giving kids scary books for Halloween? Do you have any Halloween or All Hallow’s Read plans for your library?

~Love and Libraries, Ingrid

About magpielibrarian

Youth Services Librarian, Mediocre Crafter, Urban Magpie, Glitter Addict, and Worshiper of Ridiculous Outfits, Emerging Leader 2012, Former Rainbow Book List Member, and GLBT RT Director-at-Large! This is what a librarian looks like, kids.

2 responses »

  1. Jessica says:

    Hi! I saw the feature about you over at YA Librarian Tales, and decided I must follow you. 🙂

    I love Halloween too, and have no problem giving scary books to kids. My students eat up Goosebumps year-round anyway.

Leave a Reply

