I have no problem admitting that this hurricane scared the bejeezos out of me. I was a hot mess during Hurricane Irene, but Sandy was way worse. Tim and I truly lucked out though: Our apartment building didn’t sustain any damage. We didn’t even lose power or internet service. Our little street is kinda jacked, though, and some cars were not as lucky as the people nestled inside the neighboring apartments:

This car is the most famous thing in my neighborhood. There’s always a cluster of people outside my apartment taking pictures of it.

I’m no expert, but this car seemed kind of lucky. The tree seems to be merely resting on the car. The car looks a little dinged up, but I hope it’s OK.

 

Most of my family lives on Long Island and I couldn’t get in touch with any of them at all. It drove me insane. Long Island is terribly prone to flooding. I worried about them and their pets (naturally, we all have pets. My parents have a dog with diabetes who needs daily medication). My ninety-something grandmotherĀ finally has power and I actually got to talk to her yesterday. I’ve only been able to talk to my parents briefly (mostly 30-second warbled cell phone conversations) and my Aunt Jo not at all. My cousins live in lower Manhattan and I fear that it will be a long time before that section of the city is back to normal. I keep calling everyone in hopes that they’ve gotten their power back.

Our libraries are back open today, though I won’t be going back to work until Monday (I worked Saturday, so I wouldn’t have to work on Friday anyway). Though I can walk around my neighborhood just fine, inter-borough travel looks rough. I can’t find the right combination of busses to get where I need to go, and our subway system looks like this:

 

As you can see, lower Manhattan and much of Brooklyn is missing. My go-to lines for getting from Queens to Brooklyn are gone for the moment.

Let me ask you: How is your library post-Sandy? Your communities? What can we as librarians/concerned citizens do to rebuild/repair damaged libraries and/or collections?

~Love and Libraries, Ingrid

About magpielibrarian

Youth Services Librarian, Mediocre Crafter, Urban Magpie, Glitter Addict, and Worshiper of Ridiculous Outfits, Emerging Leader 2012, Former Rainbow Book List Member, and GLBT RT Director-at-Large! This is what a librarian looks like, kids.

6 responses »

  1. Glad you made it through OK. Been thinking of lots of friends out there. Hang in there.

  2. I’m glad you’re okay, and have gotten in touch with most of your family.

  3. steph says:

    Yikes. Good to read that your street came out relatively unscathed. I went to school at Stony Brook. It was so unreal and sad to see photos of flooded Port Jeff and lower Manhattan. I’m glad most friends and family could use the data on their dying smart phones to tell me they were ok. I can’t speak for the libraries but I hope they pulled thru too!!

  4. gold price says:

    Most cars were totaled by the storm surge, but those with vehicles that still work were carting older neighbors Uptown or to Brooklyn so they could find shelter with friends who had power. Others were carting around looking for gas (a difficult task, considering that most gas stations in Manhattan have run out). Every can of gas that comes back is rationed between all generators: all flashlights are communal.

Leave a Reply

