Miss Ingrid: Regresty-ing a YA room near you.

Our tiny, mostly blank wall behind the YA/Teen reference desk was bugging me. I recently spiffed it up with a new banner, but it really needed more. I have a theory that the nicer the library looks, the more it seems like someone cares about it, the better patrons will treat it. I don’t know if this is a flawed idea. It’s kinda like Guiliani’s Broken Windows theory. I think when librarians get bogged down with understaffing, budget cuts, and just your general overwhelmed librarian malarky (guilty!), we forget this. Now that I am pretty acclimated in my library, I am busting out the glitter glue. This is the only way I know how to make things pretty.

I decided I need to whip up a little decoration that represented the two YA librarians (Rakisha  and Edwin) and myself (who is halfsie Children’s and halfsie YA librarian). We’re all a little snarky (I hate that word. What’s a better word for people who are nice and helpful but call you on your crap when you need it and are generally hilarious about it?) and I wanted that reflected in little cartoon versions of ourselves. This is what I came up with.

Here’s my boss lady Rakisha:

All Hail the YA Queen!

Why red is Miss Rakisha’s signature color, darlings! She’s the mom of the YA room and probably the nicest librarian you’ll run into. But don’t take her niceness for weakness, because there is no yelling in the Whisper Zone, hunties. I gave her a little sparkly belt and a handfull of Diet Cokes.

Much to my coworkers’ delight, Edwin and I bicker ALL DAY LONG. It’s really remarkable. He thinks I’m a big weirdo and, in turn, I call him curmudgeony. Behold, the Male Librarian:

Mr. Edwin wears a cardigan much better than you do.

Rakisha and I were hoping to rig his head so that he constantly shook his head at me in disapproval. Alas, it was not to be. The Obama button was Edwin’s idea (though I need to make him a spare Biden is my Homeboy t-shirt). I don’t know why I didn’t picture his right hand, because I made him a tiny bag of Werther’s Originals and an itty bitty AARP magazine. That’s my way of saying Edwin is old. I AM MEAN. Edwin is actually quite youthful. He just has an old soul.

Here’s Miss Ingrid:

OH MY G-D, I’M GORGEOUS!

There’s me and my cup of coffee (complete with a Here Comes Honey Boo Boo quote: “You Can’t Tell That Pig What to Do!”), my three-legged cat Lila, a border made from a wig catalog I got at ComicCon, and a pissy little reference to Mitt Romney (bonus points to teens who actually tell me where that reference is from).

I made one more cork board to even out the wall:

Truly, nothing amuses us the way we amuse ourselves.

I hope to interchange and replace our word bubbles all the time with library events announcements, the books we’re reading, and just general silly stuff to keep the librarians entertained.

What do you think?

~Love and Libraries, Ingrid

About magpielibrarian

Youth Services Librarian, Mediocre Crafter, Urban Magpie, Glitter Addict, and Worshiper of Ridiculous Outfits, Emerging Leader 2012, Former Rainbow Book List Member, and GLBT RT Director-at-Large! This is what a librarian looks like, kids.

8 responses »

  1. Daisy says you’re really crafty and “that’s a nice craft you got right there.” She also would like to know why your cat has three legs. (Me too actually, if it isn’t too tragic.)

    • I don’t know actually, but you can let Daisy know that Lila is one of the happiest animals on the planet (I brought her home from the shelter because when I picked her up, she nuzzled into my arm and didn’t stop purring). Lila has a slight scar where her leg would have been (my guess is a car accident, but I can’t be sure). Whatever happened, it happened before she got to the shelter I got her from. She can still jump and run and catch mice. She’s a champion!
      Daisy can come and do crafts with me any old time. MWAH!

  2. I love your cartoon coworkers and the one representing you too.

  3. Shannon says:

    Ha! I love it! I am not sure something like that would fly around here. If the “old soul” who is always “dissaproving” is still an Obama supporter, he can’t be that curmudgeony! If his crafty self is any indication, he is a handsome devil too! Maybe I can make one for our back room…:)

  4. Anjelica R. says:

    I found your blog quite by accident, but I am glad I did because this makes me so happy. I just finished my MLS and am a half-admin assistant/half-librarian at a non-profit right now so I love looking at cool librarian blogs like yours. Keep up the fantastic work!

Leave a Reply

