Usually New Year’s Eve is just another opportunity for me to pile on the sequins and throw on another pair of obscenely high heelsBut I just wasn’t in the mood to be overly fussy this year. Plus, I always make fun of the girls hobbling home at the end of the night or walking down our disgusting hypodermic needle-strewn sidewalks in their stockinged feet. Maybe I’m finally become sensible in my older age.

I couldn’t wait to wear my new Enid from Ghost World t-shirt, so I threw that on with one of my new Roobys skirts. I wanted to be super comfy, so I said screw-it to wearing uncomfortable tights and just wore black leggings with boots. I was a happy camper at 3 AM: nice and warm and not in constricting, itchy clothing. Take that, girl sitting on the floor of the M train in your spandex dress. I made a rational clothing decision!

See? Don't I look warm?

See? Don’t I look warm?

The Elvis button is from Leenie’s Vintage Emporium and the cardigan (in my attempt to look more like Mr. Edwin) is from Forever 21 (do not judge me). Yes, my hair matches my cardigan. No, it was not on purpose.

1 1/2

Here, I'm making a dumbdumb face.

Here, I’m making a dumbdumb face.

A better view of the Raptor shirt.

A better view of the Raptor shirt.

So, yeah, this is more than I’d typically spend on a T-shirt, but I’m super in love with it. It’s a replica of the shirt Enid wears in Ghost World, so really. Can you put a price on that?

We miss you, Ghost World-era Thora Birch.

We miss you, Ghost World-era Thora Birch.

One of my new Roobys skirts, covered in tarot cards and trimmed with gold and silver rick-rack. I live for rick-rack.

One of my new Roobys skirts, covered in tarot cards and trimmed with gold and silver rick-rack. I live for rick-rack. The belt is from The Thing in Greenpoint (and yes, I wear it all the time) and the detachable collar and the sweater clips are from Leenie’s Vintage Emporium in Astoria.

SPIKY BOOTS!

boots

They have these in brown with gold spikes and I am super close to getting them, too. They are so damn comfortable. #coolstorybro

They also have these in brown with gold spikes and I am super close to getting them, too. They are so damn comfortable. #coolstorybro

On the subway, I was next to a dude with the SAME DAMN BOOTS. It was awkward. It was just like that episode of 90210 where Brenda and Kelly went to the prom in the same dress.

#lulz

#lulz

I got ready for a thousand years, painstakingly putting on eyeliner and lipstick and then wiping most of it off two separate times. Tim just sat around looking naturally pretty.

It's a neatly chiseled, well groomed, drop dead handsome face!

It’s a neatly chiseled, well groomed, drop dead handsome face!

Most of our lives are spent waiting for the train.

Most of our lives are spent waiting for the train.

So, yeah, it was a pretty awesome New Year’s Eve, hanging out with rad librarians like Tim and Rita. I drank too much and shoved some tinsel into my hair and got into a really heated discussion about L’il Bub and Maru.

Like I said, 2012 was a crappy, horrible year and I hope it knows I won’t miss it at all. I’m ready for 2013. Come at me, bro!

Don’t you think your New Year’s resolution should be commenting on this blog post? It’s all I have to live for.

~Love and Libraries, Ingrid

About magpielibrarian

Youth Services Librarian, Mediocre Crafter, Urban Magpie, Glitter Addict, and Worshiper of Ridiculous Outfits, Emerging Leader 2012, Former Rainbow Book List Member, and GLBT RT Director-at-Large! This is what a librarian looks like, kids.

6 responses »

  1. Jules says:

    Dear Ingrid,
    I am so glad to live vicariously through you and your rad outfit from NYE. If I had not been saving the lives of drunken idiots all night, I would have totally worn something that is not at all like what you wore, because you have style, and I do not. I probably would have been the girl you made fun of in a too tight dress, and tight itchy spanx. Instead, I wore navy blue scrubs, but dressed them up with the giantest ballerina bun I could manage, winged eyeliner, and some blue glass earrings.
    Love,
    Julia

    p.s. I’m totally ganking that t-shirt. Like, I’m ordering it as soon as I finish this comment. Don’t worry, I will not wear it to NY if I ever get back there. Also, I have to go watch Ghost World now ❤

    • We just watched Ghost World. I forgot how much that movie depresses the shit out of me.
      I think you *do* have style, and in any case, your makeup is always totally on point. I tried to do winged eyeliner for 20 minutes before giving up.
      Thanks for fixing up all those drunken buttheads!

  2. Amanda Viana says:

    Happy New Year, Ingrid! Can’t wait to see what the new year brings the most rad librarian I know!!!

  3. Shannon says:

    Is Tim British? He looks British to me…maybe it’s the peacoat….

Leave a Reply

