Oooh, girl. You sent us a lot of books for our Sandy Book Relief and we are really super duper grateful. Urban Librarians Unite received over 20,000 books and we’re still sorting and delivering them. Thanks so much to our donators. At this time, we are no longer taking any more books.

I sorted books yesterday with a pretty solid group of people. It’s really incredible how many books we’ve received. The generosity and kindness of hundreds of people we never met just continues to blow my mind. So many books, y’all! For example, this is our “clean” locker:

I didn't take a picture of our messy/unsorted locker because it will give you librarian nightmares.

I didn’t take a picture of our messy/unsorted locker because it will give you librarian nightmares.

We found some really rad donations this time around. I found the cutest little piggy book and it took everything in my power not to snag it for myself:

I am a moron.

I am a moron.

Someone donated boxes and boxes of Babysitters Club books in near perfect condition and we were all totally stoked:

This is Chris, my work husband.

This is Chris, my work husband.

RICHES

RICHES

As a tween, I woulda cut a bitch for a Super Special.

As a tween, I woulda cut a bitch for a Super Special.

Which BSG girl were you? I always wanted to be a Claudia but was just a Mallory with strong Kristy overtones.

Tim found a princess keyboard book (the little piano still works)! Some kid is going to love this and their parents are going to hate us.

Jammin'

Jammin’

As usual, we appreciated the lovely messages people sent us:

thank you

I take the worst pictures, but you get the idea.

kid letter

 

Isn’t that the best? Stop trying to melt my cold, cold heart, people.

Just because the book drive is over, it doesn’t mean we’ve stopped working. Urban Librarians Unite is still sorting and delivering books. If you still want to help NY-ers who have been affected by Hurricane Sandy, you can still donate money to Urban Librarians Unite, or check out Occupy Sandy (still doing amazing and important work).

In unrelated news, this post is for Nancy Segal, who I think is just plain wonderful.

~Love and Libraries and lots and lots of thanks, Ingrid

 

About magpielibrarian

Youth Services Librarian, Mediocre Crafter, Urban Magpie, Glitter Addict, and Worshiper of Ridiculous Outfits, Emerging Leader 2012, Former Rainbow Book List Member, and GLBT RT Director-at-Large! This is what a librarian looks like, kids.

4 responses »

  1. BSC BOOKS!!!!!!!!!!! AH!!

    /pointless comment

  2. librariannan says:

    Thanks for the shout-out, Ingrid!

Leave a Reply

