I used to do Things I Love Thursdays, but sadly do not have my crap together enough to do a weekly link round-up. It was feeling a little forced and way too rah-rah happy librarian for my taste, so I dropped it (along with I’ll Tumbl For Ya Tuesdays, which hey, might come back. And for some reason my Little Red Riding Hood post is one of my most popular ever).

That’s neither here nor there. There’s been a couple of things really pressing on my old dumb brain, and I wanted an informal way to bring them up, so here goes:

I talk about Urban Librarians Unite (ULU) all the time, as I’m very passionate about the work we do. Well, lo and behold, we have a new partner in crime now, Rural Librarians Unite (RULU). RULU is fairly new, but they’re doing tremendous work already.

The trustees of the Athenaeum library in St. Johnsbury were threatening to eliminate all library staff positions (Seriously, guys? What, what, what are you thinking?). RULU was not having this at all, hunties, and quickly organized:

So, they’re a lot like ULU, but they do what they do in way colder temperatures. Kick ass, RULU. I’m glad you’re here.

Closing libraries in Brooklyn? Oh, I know this song. I HATE THIS SONG. Girl, hold my earrings:

The Brooklyn Public Library is considering closing some lesser-user branches and other options to help to pay for upgrades throughout the system…The library’s strategic plan also calls for possibly closing library branch buildings that are run down, far from commercial strips or difficult to reach.

I hate my life.

I wanted to share this post by Miss JulieIt’s all I talk about. She addresses the gimmickyness of librarianship, and also some of the male “rockstar” (barf) hero worship we witness all the time.

jazzhands2

Miss Julie, you’re making me feel so many feels! Don’t you just hate it when another blogger explains your deepest fears and concerns way better than you ever could? I have a bit to say on this subject, but I already commented all over her post. Here’s some snippets that really spoke to me:

In a profession that’s supposedly dominated by women, I find it sad that the librarians who get the most attention are mostly men (and, admittedly, some women), men who very rarely write about honest, simple, day to day issues in librarianship…These men spin elaborate fantasies about librarians being information rockstars who dress to impress (either flashily or with an eye to ironic hipsterism), dismiss librarians who still use books to connect with patrons as hopelessly backwards, and come up with gimmick after gimmick to get libraries “noticed” without ever once writing about a concrete, applicable thing that they have actually done. Show me how libraries and librarians are amazing, don’t just tell me and expect me to be convinced.

Stop reading my diary, Julie!

On a very exciting and non-librariany note (because all libraries and no play make Ingrid something something), Marlena from Self Constructed Freak is opening a shop on January 21st!

zines'n'patches

unicorn-collar

Ugh. I better hold onto my wallet.

take my money gif

So, librarians and otherwise, what’s been on your mind lately?

~Love and Libraries, Ingrid

 

About magpielibrarian

Youth Services Librarian, Mediocre Crafter, Urban Magpie, Glitter Addict, and Worshiper of Ridiculous Outfits, Emerging Leader 2012, Former Rainbow Book List Member, and GLBT RT Director-at-Large! This is what a librarian looks like, kids.

Leave a Reply

