The Anti-Valentine’s Day party seems to be a staple of Young Adult/Teen librarians, but this is my first ever. I’m still in the planning phase, but so far I’ve decided on including:

Right now, I’m putting up glittery angsty conversation hearts to hopefully get teens interested in showing up to the event. These are now hanging around the YA desk:

don't call me heart

meh heart

no thanks heart

go away

I effed up the lettering on this one, but I think the sentiment is clear:

anti-valentine's day heart

Have you ever held an Anti-Valentine’s Day party? Any suggestions would be appreciated.

~(Anti)Love and Libraries, Ingrid

About magpielibrarian

Youth Services Librarian, Mediocre Crafter, Urban Magpie, Glitter Addict, and Worshiper of Ridiculous Outfits, Emerging Leader 2012, Former Rainbow Book List Member, and GLBT RT Director-at-Large! This is what a librarian looks like, kids.

7 responses »

  1. “Meh” If that’s not the most unimpressed library valentine, I don’t know what is. LOVE IT!

  2. It might also be fun to explore failures/unrequited love themes. . . something akin to Daniel Handler’s Why We Broke Up with break up stories or objects from failed relationships as breakups. Or just oversized break up letters. http://whywebrokeupproject.tumblr.com/

  3. Monica says:

    I did UnValentines parties the first couple years I was here. The first year, everyone was super excited about the idea. The next year, less so. Last year, they were mostly confused. Super fun things: make fake poop (or other sculptures) out of modeling chocolate. Vandalize some dollar store V-Day decorations. One year, I just did a project–Voodoo Doll pincushion (I think it’s PINNNED on Pinterest. Heh.) That was just confusing to some of them lol Oh and I had fun making some not-quite-romantic mix CDs. Weird Al helps, as do punk covers.

  4. logankeys says:

    Reblogged this on Logan Keys Fiction and commented:
    HA!

  5. Amanda Clay says:

    The best anti-valentine heart I ever saw said C U in COURT!

Leave a Reply

