My old library holds an amazing craft class for adults called Greenpoint Handskills.  It’s hosted by two of the raddest chicks, Julie Schneider and Kim “Degrassi Junior High” Grassie Konen, who also happen to work for Etsy. It’s a totally free class (complete with free craft materials and usually some donuts to boot) where you learn a craft you can complete in about two hours. This week, we made a felt owl project from a book called Craft-A-Day, written by Sarah Goldschadt, who was also on hand to teach us.

craft a day by sarah goldschadt

craft a day

I am a self-proclaimed mediocre crafter, so it was nice to have a craft that I could actually make without too much help from the instructors. Tim and I modified our owls to make them a little Satanic, but I would like to point out that Sarah Goldschadt does not appear to have any occult leanings that I could notice.

Meet out owls: Arthur Fedelbaum and Baby Butch, of the Lazy Satanists.

Meet our owls: Arthur Fedelbaum and Baby Butch, of the Lazy Satanists.

Some people made the owls into ornaments, but I attached a pin to the back of Baby Butch, so she's a brooch now.

Some people made the owls into ornaments, but I attached a pin to the back of Baby Butch, so she’s a brooch now.

I got to flip through Craft-A-Day and I was really impressed. There were so many projects I felt like could actually pull off without getting frustrated and giving up. I also think that I could use some of Sarah’s projects in tween and teen craft programs at the library.

All in all, it was a good day at the library hanging out with Tim, Meghan, and Lauren, some of my favorite librarians. If you’re interested in attending a Greenpoint Handskills program, I prefer to stay in touch with them on Facebook, but you can also check out upcoming classes here.

~Love and Libraries, Ingrid

About magpielibrarian

Youth Services Librarian, Mediocre Crafter, Urban Magpie, Glitter Addict, and Worshiper of Ridiculous Outfits, Emerging Leader 2012, Former Rainbow Book List Member, and GLBT RT Director-at-Large! This is what a librarian looks like, kids.

Leave a Reply

