I have been preparing for my Anti-Valentine’s Day Party for Teens for a while. I made rude conversation heart decorations. I put together a anti-love songs mix (which I’ll post in a future entry in case you want to steal it). I prepared a black duct tape rose craft (I got black duct tape from the craft store and used this tutorial):

If I were to do these again, I'd use black Sharpie markers on the white edges of the flower. It's looks a bit ratchet without.

If I were to do these again, I’d use black Sharpie markers on the white edges of the flower. It looks a bit ratchet without.

I included some easier crafts like writing rude things on heart doilies and romance novel cover parodies:

I won't include what the teens actually wrote on these things as it's totes NSFW.

I won’t include what the teens actually wrote on these things as it’s totes NSFW.

romance novel parodies

And we had lots of snacks that would give you nasty breath:

Nothing makes your breath more nasty than Doritos. #fact

Nothing makes your breath more funky than Doritos. #fact

anti-valentine's snacksThe teens had nearly no interest in doing the crafts (some of them wrote on the doilies, the rest made animal shapes out of pipe cleaners). They mostly danced to the mix I made, tried to make out with each other while I wasn’t looking (not very anti-Valentine’s U GUISE), and ate all the food. Seriously. I forgot how much teens eat. So, while things didn’t go quite how I planned, I had a really good time.

teen attack

Mr. Edwin hates when I put my feet on the table, but he was on vacay. Don’t worry about those teens making cuddles in the background. I properly shamed them when I was done making this dumb face.

I know for next time, less crafts. More chips. You can see more pictures on their fashion Tumblr (follow them?).

~Love and Libraries, Ingrid

About magpielibrarian

Youth Services Librarian, Mediocre Crafter, Urban Magpie, Glitter Addict, and Worshiper of Ridiculous Outfits, Emerging Leader 2012, Former Rainbow Book List Member, and GLBT RT Director-at-Large! This is what a librarian looks like, kids.

6 responses »

  1. Sounds pretty damn successful to me! And I’m with the teens. Give me the food.

  2. Molly says:

    Crafts seem to always be hit or miss with teens. Sounds like a successful program!

  3. Tera says:

    “Meh” is my new favorite conversation heart. Congrats!

  4. Kate says:

    I’m planning on an Anti-Valentine’s Party for my teens this year on 2/13 – trying to decide if it’s just going to be Anti-Valentine’s or if I’ll throw in some “spooky” Friday the 13th elements. Great ideas though, thanks for sharing!

  5. Jen Pace Dickenson says:

    Did you ever post that playlist? 🙂

Leave a Reply

