oh my god zines

Like most hilariously entertaining and creative people, I get sad like nobody’s business. This has been going on since I don’t know when. I have no problem stating that I’ll probably be on anti-depressants for the rest of my life, though lots of people have no problem telling me that they have issues with the meds I take (“It’s just so creepy!” or “Taking meds is just lazy” or “Why make yourself into a vegetable?”). I get debilitating anxiety attacks that make the simplest tasks (going to the bank, answering the phone, etc.) seem freaking impossible. I’m in a place in my life where I can manage my sads and my freakouts much of the time, but other times I’m totally helpless in the face of anxiety and depression.

I feel the need for literary comfort quite a bit, sometimes even dipping my reluctant toes into the cheezy, preposterous sea of Self Help literature. No offense (really) intended for people who have found solace in so-called hip self-help people like Gabrielle Bernstein or Gala Darling and her Radical Self-Love Revolution, but for me it’s all based in shopping and every day miracles (your green tea latte is NOT a miracle) and absolute shallow and insipid saccharine nonsense. I want to believe in a formula for happiness based on pink glitter empires and yoga classes and the perfect coral colored lipgloss, but I can’t. I’m not a skinny blonde rich girl. And I doubt it would make me happier to be one, anyway.

That’s why I’m so happy I found Adam Gnade’s Do-It-Yourself Guide to Fighting the Big Motherfuckin’ Sad. It made me cry on the Q train, but in a “Holy crap, somebody gets me and my specific brand of sad” kind of way. I don’t want to call it depression anymore. It’s a big motherfuckin’ sad and I’m going to kick its ass.

adam gnade sad

There’s amazing advice for bloggers on here: “Do not, under any circumstances, read the comments. “Anonymous” is not a real person. “Anonymous” is disappointment, weakness fighting back, and envy at its worst. The people who talk shit and complain and stick their nose in your business on the internet don’t hate you, they hate themselves” (p. 5). One of my favorite snippets reminded me of battling the library budget: “No matter how beat-up you feel, you are at your best when you’re fighting” (p. 4).

Buy a copy for yourself. Keep it in your bag or in your desk at work. Buy a mess of copies and gift it to friends who are having a hard time. It’s four bucks you won’t be sorry you’ve spent. Adam doesn’t say that everything’s going to be OK always. He tells you what you already know: life is painful and life is hard, but life is also “good and right and sweet.” I am so happy I have a copy of this. It’s my new security blanket.

~Love and Libraries, Ingrid

About magpielibrarian

Youth Services Librarian, Mediocre Crafter, Urban Magpie, Glitter Addict, and Worshiper of Ridiculous Outfits, Emerging Leader 2012, Former Rainbow Book List Member, and GLBT RT Director-at-Large! This is what a librarian looks like, kids.

12 responses »

  1. Hello quality purchase with my tax return! My family doesn’t seem to get why I get anxious about having to go to the mechanic or having to find a new insurance agent or just supposedly simple “mundane” tasks. Glad to hear someone out there does.

    • We exist! We are real! You and me, we’re two smart chicas. We have Master’s! We’ve had some big accomplishments! So when we say we’re anxious, believe us. We’re being honest and we’re self-aware enough to know what we’re talking about.

  2. Shannon says:

    I am with you! I will be on an anti-depressant for the rest of my life. I have been off and on them for years (had to go off each time I got pregnant). I was always hesitant to go back on them, but when I had an anxiety attack driving to my dad’s house, I knew it was time. On, and never coming off. I am going to have to look into that zine though! I want to add a snippet, though…even though some people may get you down, remember that there are those of us that look to you for inspiration and love you! 🙂

  3. I was really sad when the link wasn’t working. And then I found out the distributor changed. Can buy a new printing of this here http://pioneerspress.com/catalog/zines/3969/

  4. Carrie Anne says:

    You know I need this.

  5. morsie says:

    Delurking to thank you for posting about this. It’s on my wishlist now, but I’ll be buying copies for myself and others soon.

Leave a Reply

