When Urban Librarians Unite (ULU) asked you to donate books and money to libraries and children who were affected by Hurricane Sandy, you came out in full forceThe donations have been generous, your book selections have been thoughtful, and your kind notes have been supportive and lovely. I was sorting with the kind folks of ULU this weekend and I thought I’d share with you some of my favorite things about that day:

Mostly, I’m obsessed with the wonderful notes you all sent along with your donations. I love that they come from all over the U.S. I love that they come from people we’ve never met before. I adore that Americans are pulling together to help post-Sandy NY-ers.

Thank you, Acton Cooperative School!

Thank you, Acton Cooperative School!

UBU? ULU? We're not picky.

UBU? ULU? We’re not picky. It’s a nice card and it was a great donation.

How sweet are the folks in Montclair, NJ?

How sweet are the folks in Montclair, NJ?

<3

You'll never guess what the solid peeps at the Pioneer Library System sent us...

You’ll never guess what the solid peeps at the Pioneer Library System sent us…

A whole box of cat tote bags! Holy crap! I totally screamed when I opened this box. Librarians love tote bags. Librarians love cats. This bag is relevant to my interests!

A whole box of cat tote bags! Holy crap! I totally screamed when I opened this box. Librarians love tote bags. Librarians love cats. This bag is relevant to my interests!

Now, every book donation we get is special. You can tell that the books were chosen for a reason and we appreciate that. However, some donations are a little specialer than others. This book selection was such an epic win for NYC kids, I can’t even tell you. First of all, everything in it was brand new. Second, each and every book in the donation was collection development gold.

A non-fiction lover's dream come true. There was another Eyewitness book in the box. It was a robot one and I think someone was thumbing through it when I was trying to take pictures.

A non-fiction lover’s dream come true. 

But brace yourself for what was hiding underneath these books:

Are you kidding me with this line up? Hunger Games, DoWK? Sendak AND one of my favorite kids' graphic novels, Hereville? Damn!

Are you kidding me with this line up? Hunger Games, DoaWK? Sendak AND one of my favorite kids’ graphic novels, Hereville? Damn!

As you may remember, some of these books will end up in libraries whose collections were destroyed by the hurricane. The rest will find a home in one of ULU’s mini libraries. If you want to help us out, that’s great, but ULU is no longer taking book donations (at least, not at this time). However, we always take money, ’cause we’re keeping it real. Storage for the books, gas to cart these suckers around? It costs a boatload. Another great (and free!) way to help Urban Librarians Unite is to email NYC Mayor Mike Bloomberg and let him know that cutting library funding is NOT an option. Most of the librarians who have been working on the Sandy Children’s Book Relief will be affected by these insanely huge budget cuts. ULU librarians have been working overtime on this book drive, volunteering on weekends and early mornings. Please take the time to tell Mayor Bloomberg that laying off library workers and closing libraries is not an option.

~Love and Libraries, Ingrid

About magpielibrarian

Youth Services Librarian, Mediocre Crafter, Urban Magpie, Glitter Addict, and Worshiper of Ridiculous Outfits, Emerging Leader 2012, Former Rainbow Book List Member, and GLBT RT Director-at-Large! This is what a librarian looks like, kids.

Leave a Reply

