nervy break d

I’m full-on into Rainbow List reading and I’m starting to feel the pain. The books from publishers started arriving in drips and drabs and, at first, I was so excited. Look! Books! For me! Waiting for me when I get to work! It’s like Hanukkah except it’s a million days long! So many books! ALL MINE! LOOK HOW IMPORTANT I AM! MWAHAHA! #powerhungrylibrarian, etc. Now, when a big old box of titles shows up, I start quaking in my stylish yet affordable boots. It’s scary. How can I read all these books by my deadlines? How can I make sure that I don’t have to end up cramming in books at the last minute? If I don’t write as I go, I’m going to forget all my important first impressions. Stay tuned for my impending nervous breakdown.

Who am I kidding? I love this stuff. Like, every minute.

I can’t read at home. Not really. I have too many distractions: cats, computer, boyfriend, Netflix. Oddly enough, I can read in the bathtub, especially if I have overpriced bathbombs, lit candles and nice music. I’m so weird. I have to pretend that the book is taking me on a hot date or I won’t read it.

The best place for me to read is outside and, luckily, it’s getting warmer in New York. You know the asshat who takes pictures of his food in restaurants? I take pictures of myself reading. I am the worst. Suffer, children.

Outside on my lunch break. Sprinkles for lunch because I'm a grown-up.

Outside on my lunch break. Sprinkles for lunch because I’m a grown-up.

At an outdoor cafe, reading a book cover-to-cover like a smug little jerk.

At an outdoor cafe, reading a book cover-to-cover like a smug little jerk.

The Q train is good, especially if you are lucky enough to have some space to yourself. I commute an hour and 15 minutes each way to work, so I try to utilize that time the best way I can.

The Q train is good, especially if you are lucky enough to have some space to yourself. I commute an hour and 15 minutes each way to work, so I try to utilize that time in the best way I can.

Is there a place where you get most of your reading done? If you’ve been on a book list committee or on an awards committee, how did you make sure you maximized your reading time?

~Love and Libraries and SO MANY BOOKS, Ingrid

About magpielibrarian

Youth Services Librarian, Mediocre Crafter, Urban Magpie, Glitter Addict, and Worshiper of Ridiculous Outfits, Emerging Leader 2012, Former Rainbow Book List Member, and GLBT RT Director-at-Large! This is what a librarian looks like, kids.

17 responses »

  1. Sarah says:

    Subway reading is the best! I think I get most of my reading done there. PS- I just got the oh-so-exciting “LIBRARY ITEM RESERVED FOR YOU” email for Elanor & Park which I put on my reserve list based on your review! Can’t wait to pick it up today!

  2. Sharon M says:

    I’m usually terrible about actually taking my lunch break, but when i’m on a committee that involves reading (or listening) to too many things, lunch is one of my best times…i force myself to go somewhere by myself, take the whole hour, and read!

  3. I love reading on the train, but I hardly ever ride trains so that isn’t very helpful. In general, I love reading while traveling (out in nature, at a cafe, wherever). Enjoy your Rainbow List reading (and sprinkles)!

  4. Meg says:

    I hate eating a meal and not having a book with me– I get a mini little anxiety attack. Of course, I live by myself and don’t have a family to cook for so that makes it easier. I also LOVE going out to eat by myself with a book. A beer helps too.

  5. I’ve been reading quite a bit on my lunch break. I read before work and after, mostly at home. I have had to set my phone far away from me though else I’ll start dilly-dallying with it.

  6. Kim says:

    I’m on a selection committee this year too (for the first time) and I am feeling the same way. I was so excited when I first started getting those boxes of books and now they’ve completely taken over my already small dining room! The method to my madness is to read whenever I’m on lunch break. I also devote my Sundays to trying to get through at least 3 or 4 books. Sometimes I’m much more successful than others. Like when Game of Thrones or Project Runway is on. 🙂

Leave a Reply

