I was having a great conversation about RuPaul’s Drag Race and Paris is Burning with one of the teens (seriously, this was maybe this best conversation ever), when an adult patron stopped in front of the reference desk. She pointed at me and started laughing. Unabashedly. She didn’t seem crazy, but I was totally taken aback. I just stared at her. She said, “Do people often laugh and smile when they look at you? Well?!?! You made me smile!” Then she trotted off. I think this was a compliment with a not-so-graceful delivery.

Anyway. No one likes being laughed at. Remember this special lesson for the future.

Let’s survey the outfit in question, shall we?

Go ahead. Laugh your ass off.

Go ahead. Laugh your ass off.

I was not making this weird face at the reference desk.

I was not making this weird face at the reference desk.

I was not holding the cat at the time in question either, but aren't you glad you caught a guest appearance by Max the Cat? Isn't he handsome?

I was not holding the cat at the time in question either, but aren’t you glad you caught a guest appearance by Max the Cat? Isn’t he handsome?

My fake-o collar held in place by my Barnard Zine Library and Feminist pins.

My fake-o Peter Pan collar held in place by my Barnard Zine Library and Feminist pins.

This was a gift from my boss lady, Rakisha, who has a matching cat in white.

This pin was a gift from my boss lady, Rakisha, who has a matching cat in white.

Sky Tiger shirt: Threadless

Detachable sequined Peter Pan collar: Prima donna

Feminist pin: Modern Girl Blitz

Skirt and Belt: Thrifted

~Love and Libraries, Ingrid

About magpielibrarian

Youth Services Librarian, Mediocre Crafter, Urban Magpie, Glitter Addict, and Worshiper of Ridiculous Outfits, Emerging Leader 2012, Former Rainbow Book List Member, and GLBT RT Director-at-Large! This is what a librarian looks like, kids.

2 responses »

  1. I happen to be very fond of the outfit, and think I would be far more inclined to approach you and inquire where you got the skirt from.

Leave a Reply

