I’m all:

You’re just getting around to this now? What, do you do everything Hollywood tells you to do?

Thanks, Baz Luhrmann. Your new Great Gatsby movie coming out means: A) I don’t have a single copy of the book on the shelves and B) I have to watch people on the Q train make that smug “I’m reading Fitzgerald for fun”-face.

~Love and Libraries, Ingrid

P.S. Let me add the obligatory “Isn’t it great to see people reading? Joining together in a common literary experience? It just warms the cockles of my cold, dusty librarian heart.”

About magpielibrarian

Youth Services Librarian, Mediocre Crafter, Urban Magpie, Glitter Addict, and Worshiper of Ridiculous Outfits, Emerging Leader 2012, Former Rainbow Book List Member, and GLBT RT Director-at-Large! This is what a librarian looks like, kids.

8 responses »

  1. Deb says:

    As long as it isn’t a movie tie-in cover…And at least they’re reading it before the movie comes out.

  2. It doesn’t warm my heart. I read that book in high school. I LOVE it in fact but I look at people who just tell me they are reading it now with judgy face, I totally admit it. It’s not a long book. I’m such a damn book snob and I shouldn’t be because I read, with shameless pleasure, more erotic romance than anyone ever should.

  3. Michael Golrick says:

    Um…been there done that. Had college acquaintances in this one as extras:

    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0071577/?ref_=sr_2

  4. I read it in my 20s for fun before I ever thought about library school. Saw the Robert Redford movie in my 30s. All I need now is the tee shirt. No offense to Baz, I love you, but over the whole flapper thing.

  5. steph says:

    I totally get this post and it made me smile (RuPaul judgment!) but, at the same time, I kinda dig seeing The Great Gatsby all over my bus rides. It’s similar to how I wasn’t into those permanent Oprah Book Club stickers but I like that Oprah got more ladies to read Tolstoy.

  6. Jenny R says:

    Can I drop some meta-judginess? Nobody gets to pass judgment on someone reading a book because of a movie tie-in if they only read that book in high school because it was assigned reading. Nope. Even if you enjoyed it. Which you most likely did not. There, I’m going back to playing Bejeweled now. Hee! 🙂

Leave a Reply

