I had three programs this week, and I thought I’d share with you what I read. One class I had was Toddler Story and Play, a pretty laid back little class where I do a very short storytime (usually one or two books sandwiched between songs and rhymes) followed by a playtime. Later in the week, I had two separate class visits from some Pre-K students. Here’s what the kiddos heard:

Pete the Cat by Eric Litwin

pete

I’m sorry. I don’t do a class visit without Pete the Cat. Not happening. If I’m meeting a brand new group of kids, from Toddlers to 3rd graders, I’m busting out Pete the Cat. They love it. It’s a huge crowd pleaser and, because of this, I’ll never tire of it. Also, I force the kids to do jazz hands and no one doesn’t like doing jazz hands.

Open This Little Book by Jesse Klausmeier

I love books about books! I love having students come to the library for the first time and busting out a bunch of fun stories about books and libraries. Anyway, this is a newish title that I’m really pleased with. It’s so clever! There’s color recognition and a book within a book within a book. Open This Little Book is a new favorite of mine.

Open This Little_Product Shot 001-small

It’s a Little Book by Lane Smith

lilbook

Another book about a book. It’s especially good for talking to the little-uns about properly treating a book, without being didactic and obnoxious. It’s short and sweet. Someone complained, “Hey, that was a short book!” Kid, I told you the title was It’s a Little Book. There was full disclosure here and I apologize for nothing.

Monsters Love Colors by Mike Austin

Kind of like Mouse Paint. But. You know. With monsters. I prefer the monsters.

Dragons Love Tacos by Adam Rubin

dragons

One of the groups mentioned that they were doing a section on “foods and eating”. Of course, when the teacher showed up, she said, “Oh, that was the section we did several weeks ago, now we’re talking about Community Helpers.” Naturally. I could go into a whole rant here about how I had double checked about this whole to-do, but let’s just move on, shall we? Anyway, I proceeded to read them Dragons Love Tacos. I love asking about the kids’ favorite foods and then deadpan asking them, “Do you know what dragons love to eat? You don’t? Seriously?” I feel like the kids never quite get the last joke of the book, but overall they really dig it.

How Do Dinosaurs Eat Their Food? by Jane Yolen and Mark Teague

HowDoDinosaurs

An oldy (ish), but a good reliable standby of mine (as are the rest of Yolen’s dinosaur books). The adults and the kids always seem to take to this book. I especially like when that one dinosaur sticks beans up his nose. That dinosaur cray.

So, that was my week in toddler and Pre-K picture books, peeps. What are your old faithfuls? What are your new favorites?

~Love and Libraries, Ingrid

About magpielibrarian

Youth Services Librarian, Mediocre Crafter, Urban Magpie, Glitter Addict, and Worshiper of Ridiculous Outfits, Emerging Leader 2012, Former Rainbow Book List Member, and GLBT RT Director-at-Large! This is what a librarian looks like, kids.

8 responses »

  1. I ordered Open this Little Book based on your Goodreads review! Can’t wait to try it out with my kids. A book that has been successful with my preschool groups this week is Huff & Puff by Rueda. They love pretending to be the big bad wolf, even if the ending mystifies them a bit. I’ve started pointing out what each pig is holding.

  2. Meghan says:

    Class visits in the 2nd grade-range always loved “Walter the Farting Dog”.I wish the publisher would update it a little, though, as references to a VCR always tripped up the kids. Then I said “Fart” again and they got over it…

  3. Beth says:

    I love to do Frank Was a Monster Who Wanted to Dance by Keith Graves. Sometimes it grosses out some of the moms, but the kids are usually rolling on the floor laughing. I call that a success.

  4. Shannon says:

    My favorites are “Don’t Read this Book” by JIll Lewis and “Book, Book, Book” by Deborah Bruss. “Don’t Read…” is about a king who is having his story told and it isn’t quite done yet. He spends a good amount of time looking out at the audience and yelling at them (when he isn’t fawning all overhimself that is). It ends with the king forbidding us to read the story again (which, of course, the kids want to do immediatly!) “Book Book Book” is just a silly story about a group of farm animals that go to the library. The librarian doesn’t understand what they want until the chicken speaks up. I love to do the “voices” that I assign to the different farm animals.

Leave a Reply

