I’m dealing with an illness in the family right now, so I’m not really feeling motivated to do much. I don’t want to write or go to work or be super-librarian or clean or really anything but go see my family and then collapse on the bed with my cats and watch back to back episodes of SVU. I’ve been a crappy blogger as of late and for that I apologize.

In the next several days I’ll be attending BEA (I’ll see Rainbow Rowell and Sara Farizan so I’ve been jumping out of my skin) and I’ll be presenting an award at the Lambda Literary Awards (Justin Vivian Bond! Janis Ian! Mike Ruiz! Holy crap, I’ll be close to cool people), so hopefully soon I’ll feel motivated and rejuvenated and ready to write.

Until then, here’s some things that have been on my mind:

Remember when I interviewed the totally amazing Wick Thomas and you were all super inspired? Well, Wick’s got a blog and you need to check it out. Tell ’em Large Ingrid sent ya.

Libraries Changed My Life is still going strong and making me feel better and better with each new submission. I enjoy all the submissions, but I’d like you to take a look at my two recent favorites, one by a student trying to save the jobs of his school librarians (How rad is this kid? Please take the time to sign his petition), and the other by the aforementioned Sara Farizan.

Click the above text to read the whole story. Trust me. It's amazing.

Click the above text to read the whole story. Trust me. It’s amazing.

I’ve talked about how the zine The Do-It-Yourself Guide to Fighting the Big Motherfuckin’ Sad was one of the best purchases I’ve madeWell, it’s your turn to buy a copy. Why? Because Pioneers Press is in danger. I’d hate to see Pioneers Press go under. We need awesome zines in our lives. You can read about Pioneers Press’s troubles here and here. I highly recommend the DIY Guide to the Big Motherfuckin’ Sad, but I’ve purchased plenty of other things from PP that I’ve really enjoyed. Whether you’ve got a full zine collection or are just starting one, buy something from Pioneers Press today. Seriously. Now’s the time to support independent zine publishers.

♥ This article sums up a lot of my feelings about the constant library budget crisis in NYC. I’d love to see more like it.

♥ I appreciate the honesty and thought put into this blog post by “Teacher Tom”. It’s entitled “Race and Racism; Gender and Sexism”. I’ll be the first to admit that I’m still learning about gender biases and stepping outside the gender binary. I’m currently reading My New Gender Workbook by Kate Bornstein and it’s sobering and humbling to realize how hung-up and ill-informed I am about gender. But how do my gender hang-ups and ignorance play into me being a librarian, instructor, teacher, and role-model? I don’t know. I’m working on it and I don’t have easy answers. I don’t agree with Teacher Tom that gender is a “biological fact”. But beyond that? I’m still not sure. Do I keep telling little girls that they look fancy when they come to class in a glittery outfit? Do I still keep calling male toddlers “Little Man” or “Little Dude”? I don’t know. I’m a work in progress.

♥ I may not be blogging about body acceptance as much as I used to, but that doesn’t mean that I’m not constantly obsessing about it. I’ve been fortunate to come across a couple of amazing posts about it, as of late. Here, Anna Mollow talks about why fat is a queer and feminist issue:

The war against fat, like efforts to “cure,” “convert,” or “repair” queer sexualities, will fail. And so—we must make certain—will the war against fat people. If you want to say you were on the right side of this fight when fat liberation becomes mainstream (as it no doubt will), there is much you can do. First, stop dieting. (And if you say you are not dieting but are merely subscribing to a “healthy way to eat,” then ask yourself: Would I continue to adhere to my dietary restrictions if I knew they would make me both healthier and 50 pounds fatter?) Desist from all dieting talk: Recognize that remarks like “I’ll have to work off these calories at the gym tomorrow” or “Do these pants make me look fat?” are as phobic as fears that the wrong clothing or accessories might make you look queer. Rather than complimenting people for being “petite,” “slender,” or “svelte,” find something else to praise them for instead. Eliminate the words “obese” and “overweight” from your lexicon, and substitute the simple word “fat.” Start looking at large people in a new way; notice that fat folks are as beautiful and sexy as anyone else.

This post led me to the Militant Baker’s “Things No One Will Tell Fat Girls…SO I WILL” and a Tumblr called This is Thin Privilege, both worthwhile reads.

I hope to be back to blogging my own thoughts soon enough. In the meantime, tell me what you do when you don’t feel like being super-librarian or even mediocre-librarian.

~Love and Libraries, Ingrid

About magpielibrarian

Youth Services Librarian, Mediocre Crafter, Urban Magpie, Glitter Addict, and Worshiper of Ridiculous Outfits, Emerging Leader 2012, Former Rainbow Book List Member, and GLBT RT Director-at-Large! This is what a librarian looks like, kids.

Leave a Reply

