This is my fourth 24 hour Read-In with Urban Librarians Unite (ULU). Why do we stay up all night with fellow librarians and library lovers? To protest budget cuts that threaten New York’s libraries and librarians. I usually try to swing the full 24 hour shift (I’ve had varying levels of success with being able to stay up), but this year, I showed up only from 3AM to 6AM. I’d like to extend my thanks to Christian Zabriskie, Vicky Zabriskie, Lauren Comito, and all the other ULU-ers who continue to show their dedication to saving NYC libraries from closures and layoffs.

Here's Christian Z, one of our fearless ULU readers, up in the wee hours of the morning.

Here’s Christian Z, one of our fearless ULU leaders and readers, up in the wee hours of the morning.

Me, reading Hoochie Mama by Erika Lopez.

My boo, Tim, helping with the Read-In's time keeping.

My boo, Tim, helping with the Read-In’s time keeping.

My new favorite pro-library banner.

My new favorite pro-library banner.

Like I said, I only managed three hours of the Read-In this year, so I applaud Christian, Vicky, Lauren, and all the other advocates who dedicated their time to the cause.

Want to help NYC libraries? We’re aiming for no library closures and no jobs lost. We need you to speak up for New Yorkers:

Times are tough for New Yorkers, but they’ll get worse without our libraries.

~Love and Libraries, Ingrid

 

About magpielibrarian

Youth Services Librarian, Mediocre Crafter, Urban Magpie, Glitter Addict, and Worshiper of Ridiculous Outfits, Emerging Leader 2012, Former Rainbow Book List Member, and GLBT RT Director-at-Large! This is what a librarian looks like, kids.

2 responses »

  1. Christian says:

    Thanks Ing! it was really great seeing you, thanks for coming out for the super late night/super early hours. Tim was the awesome.

Leave a Reply

