We have a class that regularly drops in to the library most mornings. I’m going to be honest with you. Regular drop-in classes? Not my favorite. They tend to wreck the library, throwing books all over the place. They also need as much help as a scheduled visit, even though the general understanding is that drop-in classes don’t get extra attention. However, one class doesn’t bug me so much, because it has one of the most fun kiddo patrons we get.

I call him Secret Agent Boy. I once caught him stealing glances of the staff and furtively scribbling on a piece of paper. When I asked him what he was up to, he took off. Pretty fast.

All of a sudden, staff members started to receive portraits that SAB had made. He’d plop them down on our desks and the run away. I was worried that he wouldn’t make one for me, but he did, finally. He always draws us in profile:

I'm serving up some White Lady Grace Jones-realness, here.

I’m serving up some White Lady Nerd Grace Jones-realness, here.

I went to thank SAB for my awesome portrait, but receiving thanks was clearly not part of his master plan. He whispered, “I know your secret identity!” and vanished into the stacks.

Well, crap. I was kind of hoping to keep my secret identity to myself.

A few days later, my coworker Rakisha found this note. Now, we’re not sure if SAB wrote it or if one of his classmates did. I blurred out SAB’s name for my protection and yours.

Is it just me, or is it kind of cryptic?

Is it just me, or is this kind of cryptic?

SAB, I salute you. I’m not sure who you are or where you came from, but I’m glad you’re here.

~Love and Libraries, Ingrid

About magpielibrarian

Youth Services Librarian, Mediocre Crafter, Urban Magpie, Glitter Addict, and Worshiper of Ridiculous Outfits, Emerging Leader 2012, Former Rainbow Book List Member, and GLBT RT Director-at-Large! This is what a librarian looks like, kids.

5 responses »

  1. This is a great dose of library sunshine on a Friday. Kudos to you SAB!

  2. bc says:

    Reblogged this on Never Pity The Past and commented:
    Love this!!!

  3. I tried to thank SAB and he gave me such a stink eye that I withered on the spot. I told everyone about my portrait.

  4. meg says:

    Oh my goodness this is hilarious! Awesome:)

Leave a Reply

