We know how I feel about Summer ReadingI like it in theory (Let’s get kids excited about reading!), but in practice, I just end up tired, cranky, and overworked. Am I the only one? Is it just that Miss Ingrid is kvetchier than the average librarian? Maybe not.

I asked you to tell me your worst library Summer Reading stories, and you did not disappoint. Every Monday (until I run out of stories), I will bring to you the scariest, most gut-wrenching tales from our library’s front-lines.

Is Summer Reading driving your delicate librarian mind mad? You’re not alone. Call it schadenfraude. Call it “misery loves company”. Call it “Ingrid’s too lazy to write her own posts”.

Call it…

I'm very proud of this.

I’m very proud of this GIF. If this doesn’t get me a Movers and Shakers award, I don’t know what will.

☢  Someone thought it would be a great idea to hit up a local water park for free tickets to give out for Summer Reading at our 54 locations. We had all kinds of batshit crazy camp counselors demanding these tickets for their groups (sometimes going to multiple locations to get even more tickets). They would then go, en masse, with their 50 horrible children to the water park and demand that everything was free. After a year or three of dancing the delicate crazy-ass-camp-counselor dance (again, at all 54 locations) and getting complaints from the water park about rabid bands of rotten adults and children, we decided to not give out tickets like that anymore.

~Submitted by Sarah

There, there, intrepid librarians. It’s only a story. It’s all over now. Miss Ingrid’s here to wipe away your tears.

Tune in next time for Tales of Summer Reading. Have your own horror story? You know where to find me.

~Love and Libraries, Ingrid

About magpielibrarian

Youth Services Librarian, Mediocre Crafter, Urban Magpie, Glitter Addict, and Worshiper of Ridiculous Outfits, Emerging Leader 2012, Former Rainbow Book List Member, and GLBT RT Director-at-Large! This is what a librarian looks like, kids.

4 responses »

  1. Sarah S. says:

    Okay, okay… maybe I’m harsh. the kids aren’t “horrible.” Except when they are. Thanks for kvetching.

  2. Sarah S. says:

    I’m gonna kvetch like a MF after my Summer Reading Kick-Off Party today.

Leave a Reply

