Yup. I just went all Carly Rae Jepsen on your asses. How you like me now?

This is how I feel about the title of this blog post, but I couldn’t help myself. Sorry ’bout it!

You KNOW that NYC libraries are having a hard time, even though our libraries’ circulation and overall usage has experienced a major increase. My buddies at Urban Librarians Unite are fighting devastating budget cuts like a bunch of champs. You can help them. YES. You. 

Says ULU:

Let your voice be heard! Don’t let them cut NYC library funding this year! 

On either Thursday, June 20th, or Friday June 21st (or both!), call 311 at any time and tell the operator you’d like to make a “budget comment.” Then you can make a statement regarding library funding. 

If you want to keep things simple, here’s a sample script: “I believe closing any libraries in NYC is unacceptable and I’m calling to request the complete restoration of library funding.” Easy as that! And it feels so good.

If you don’t live in NYC, you can call 212-NEW-YORK (or 212-639-9675). In addition, the TTY Number is 212-504-4115.

Want to learn more? Click here. Also, you can RSVP to the Facebook event and share the event with everyone you know here. I want to see this info all over Facebook and Twitter (use the hashtag #savenyclibraries).

I’ve talked about how budget cuts and layoff threats have really made me feel helpless. People who’ve mentioned that they want to help NYC libraries, librarians, and library users can make a difference by calling 311 or 212-NEW-YORK on June 20th and/or 21st. It may not seem like it will accomplish much but, “this small action has a BIG impact because 311 tracks the comments and tells the mayor about the issues that concern people the most.”

I’ve made these calls in the past. The most time out of my day it’s ever taken up is 5 minutes. It’s usually a lot less, though, sometimes only taking a minute or so.

This is a powerful yet simple way to show us some support.

We could use it.

~Love and Libraries, Ingrid

P.S. If you call, please comment and let me know how it went. It would make my day.

P.P.S. Save NYC Libraries!

P.P.P.S. No Cuts, No Closures, No Layoffs!

About magpielibrarian

Youth Services Librarian, Mediocre Crafter, Urban Magpie, Glitter Addict, and Worshiper of Ridiculous Outfits, Emerging Leader 2012, Former Rainbow Book List Member, and GLBT RT Director-at-Large! This is what a librarian looks like, kids.

Leave a Reply

