Here’s a little something I’ve been working on for a big Summer Reading display. It’s based on our Discover Hidden Treasures/Dig Into Reading theme this year. Meet Shanice:

She's a pirate! I was afraid that she looked like a baby Nicki Minaj, but my coworkers assured me she doesn't.

She’s a pirate! I was afraid that she looked like a baby Nicki Minaj, but my coworkers assured me she doesn’t. Her skull and crossbones are made out of (tempeh) bacon and eggs. She has amazing eye makeup because, unlike me, she’s not afraid of poking herself in the eye with eyeliner.

She’s got braces, but she’s rocking them.

I’ve given her a Frida Kahlo shirt, because Shanice is the kind of chick that has a good grasp of art and history.

I added extra flowers to her crown.

I added extra flowers to her crown.

I’ll work on Shanice’s arms and legs in the next couple of days. I also hope to bust out a glittery gender-queer mermaid if I have time.

~Love and Libraries, Ingrid

About magpielibrarian

Youth Services Librarian, Mediocre Crafter, Urban Magpie, Glitter Addict, and Worshiper of Ridiculous Outfits, Emerging Leader 2012, Former Rainbow Book List Member, and GLBT RT Director-at-Large! This is what a librarian looks like, kids.

2 responses »

  1. BTW, a lot of people have been stopping and reading your Pride display. Most under the age of 12. There’s a little bit of snicker but no outward hate. So look at us, progressive Brooklyn!

Leave a Reply

