Gluing things to other different things is good for my soul. I’m not the most innovative or skilled crafter; I usually pick around DIY blogs until I find something I think I can actually pull of without accidentally sewing my face to the floor. Though not exclusively crafty, one of my favorite bloggers is Marlena from Self-Constructed Freak. She whipped up these awesome pins/buttons/badges/whatever you wanna call ’ems:

Aren’t these amazing? Look, I’ll have Marlena give you the step-by-steps, as she’s very good at explaining how to make these. What I will tell you is that I didn’t use resin as a top coat. You have to mix two parts and if you add extra steps to my crafting process, I’ll screw it up. Instead, I used Aleene’s Jewelry Pendant Gel. It’s one step and it doesn’t stink up the joint. It dried clear and made the buttons extra shiny.

Here are some of the buttons I made:

In addition to images, I used acrylic paint, rhinestones, and glitter.

In addition to the main images, I used acrylic paint, rhinestones, and glitter.

These images come from a ratty old Liza with a Z program I found at a thrift shop. Some of the images were in good condition. I really like the way the Aleene's Gel dried over the holographic glitter.

These images come from a ratty old Liza with a Z program I found at a thrift shop. Some of the images were still in good condition. I really like the way the Aleene’s Gel dried over the holographic glitter. That’s Liza and Judy inside the heart button.

The cat and the weird pink bear are from some weird book sale find. The pink boy and flower print is from vintage wrapping paper.

The cat and the weird pink bear are from some weird book sale find. The pink boy and flower print is from vintage wrapping paper.

I used this project at work with the tweens (I was filling in for Tween Art Club, a program I don’t usually do). I had varying results. The tweens who could really concentrate and think out their pins made really cool little wearable art projects. Kids of the squirrelier sort just ended up with a gloppy mess. If you do this project at the library, veer towards an older crowd. I was way too permissive in letting the younger kids into the program. I’m such a push-over.

~Love and Libraries, Ingrid

About magpielibrarian

Youth Services Librarian, Mediocre Crafter, Urban Magpie, Glitter Addict, and Worshiper of Ridiculous Outfits, Emerging Leader 2012, Former Rainbow Book List Member, and GLBT RT Director-at-Large! This is what a librarian looks like, kids.

4 responses »

  1. Rebecca Kane says:

    I heart the Liza pin. It’s inspiring. Well done!

  2. Deb says:

    Oooh, thanks for the pendant gel tip! It’s great for programming and for klutzy crafters. I made a bunch of bottle cap pendants and magnets and used resin, but it takes forever to set.

Leave a Reply

