If you’ve been reading this blog for any length of time, you may have realized that I have initiated and almost immediately abandoned several recurring features. I’ve started them and then lost interest or stopped coming up with interesting ways to keep them going. Take a look at the internet graveyard that is Did You Ever Know You Were My Hero (Writing it became really tedious) and Literary Playlists (I love writing these and I get consistent hits on these posts every day, but I’ve run out of good ideas. I’m open to bringing these back. I just haven’t been inspired as of late). They were cool for a while, but just didn’t have enough staying power in my cluttered little brain to stick around.

I’ve been thinking quite a lot about blogging and librarianship as a community. I don’t want The Magpie Librarian to exist in a vacuum. That’s no fun. I want a way to bring bloggers, librarians, authors, and whoever else into my blog. I’ve done this, in a manner of speaking, in a couple of interviews (Jono Jarrett, Ken Setterington, Wick Thomas), but I really want something that I can do more regularly.

So, I’ve come up with these micro-interviews. Just five questions. Just 5 things.

I’ve used myself as a guinea pig for this first installment, so you can see how it goes.

Here are the five questions:

1. What food would you eat from now until forever?
2. What’s currently your favorite book?
3. Who is your least favorite literary character?
4. What fictional world would you live in?
5. If you could have any super power, what would it be?
And here’s how I’m choosing to present the answers:
Here’s a little elaboration:
1. I’m no longer a vegan (just a vegetarian), but my favorite foods are are still found in NYC’s many vegan restaurants. Champs‘ Hot Cubano is spicy and “cheesy” and perfect.
2. My all-time favorite book is Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. A very close second is Sassafrass, Cypress, and Indigo. I just reread it and it’s still magic.
3. Bella Swan? Vom. Terrible name. Awful character. Most anti-feminist nonsense I’ve ever read.
4. I’ve been to L.A., and, I’m sorry. But I didn’t enjoy it. Maybe, though, if I could find myself in a Los Angeles created by Francesca Lia Block and go live in Weetzie Bat’s house, all would be well.
5. Teleportation is convenient and I wouldn’t need to watch people clip their nails on the subway.
So, I have two more micro-interviews all set up. I’m psyched for this feature. I love making these little collages. They keep my brain calm and quiet.
Think I should feature you in Just 5 Things? Have a suggestion for someone I should interview? You know where to find me.
~Love and Libraries, Ingrid

About magpielibrarian

Youth Services Librarian, Mediocre Crafter, Urban Magpie, Glitter Addict, and Worshiper of Ridiculous Outfits, Emerging Leader 2012, Former Rainbow Book List Member, and GLBT RT Director-at-Large! This is what a librarian looks like, kids.

9 responses »

  1. Tess says:

    I’m probably not worth interviewing, or even micro-interviewing. I just want to tell the world, if I could eat a food now to forever, it’d be oatmeal. Now you know, world!

      • Tess says:

        YES. it’s delicious and nutritious. it’s good and good for you. it’s, like, miracle food. my love for oatmeal knows no bounds. i will walk to the ends of the earth for oatmeal. or at least the closest grocery store. OATMEAL!!!

      • Tess says:

        just cuz i feel like it, i’m gonna to answer the rest of these questions:
        2. “saga” by brian k. vaughan. it’s like “romeo and juliet” in space. read it.
        3. the cat in the hat. what a jerk.
        4. gotham and i’d be batgirl.
        5. the ability to communicate with animals, so i can finally know what my dog is whining about all the time.
        hope you’re doing well xoxo

      • Ooh, 5 is brilliant! Yes!

      • Tess says:

        this probably doesn’t count as a super power but i also wish i had a tail. like a long monkey tail? i feel like it’d come in very handy. i could tuck it under my skirt when i wasn’t using it 😉

      • I used to joke that my super power would be Broccoli for Hands. I think a tail counts.

  2. […] my second “Just 5 Things” segment, where I micro-interview a librarian, blogger, or just someone I dig. Today, we have JP […]

Leave a Reply

