My last display, which was made of LGBTQ-related infographics and Tumblr pictures, actually went over way better than I thought it would. I had an icky feeling that it would be vandalized or that people would be muttering homophobic slurs. Though there was some sort of related vandalism (not cool, teens), I was surprised to find many teens and tweens actually reading the display. No nasty comments. They just stopped walking and read all the different messages on the display. I have no idea if they agreed with the sentiments or not, but I hope someone learned something new or discovered that their library is LGBTQ-friendly.

I felt that the display, though simple in construction, was successful. It wasn’t just visual noise. People were paying attention. So, I’m going to replace it every month or so with a new topic. Next up: Body Image/Body Acceptance. 

I admittedly have lots of body image problems, though I’m working on them. It was worse when I was a teenager. At least, I’d like to think I have a healthier attitude about my body now that I’m older. I am a huge Tumblr lurker, and while I’m totally troubled by this “thigh gap” crap (if you don’t know what a thigh gap is, don’t Google it. You’ll be happier not knowing), I am also thrilled to see so many tweens, teens, and otherwise having rational and informed conversations about body image and fat acceptance. I wanted to bring the conversation over to Brooklyn tweens and teens.

I started this display before I left for a week’s staycation. Here’s what I started before I left:

Yeah. It's pink. Shut up.

Yeah. It’s pink. Shut up.

I had a *really* hard time finding pictures that featured men. If you have any advice on how to make this display more diverse, I’m listening.

Ugh, this woman is such a badass.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Like the last display, this one will be three panels when finished.

What do you think? It’s a touchy subject for people. I hear so many ill-informed comments from people regarding weight and diet. I just wanted to touch on something that they might not be learning about in school. It’s not as cut and dry as fat=unhealthy or skinny=healthy. I also want to work on broadening people’s horizons regarding what is attractive and what isn’t.

Until next time…

~Love and Libraries, Ingrid

About magpielibrarian

Youth Services Librarian, Mediocre Crafter, Urban Magpie, Glitter Addict, and Worshiper of Ridiculous Outfits, Emerging Leader 2012, Former Rainbow Book List Member, and GLBT RT Director-at-Large! This is what a librarian looks like, kids.

14 responses »

  1. Meghan says:

    I’m curious if you tie this into literacy or library resources too. Nice job, BTW.

  2. As always, a wonder and thought provoking display. I’m betting you’ll hear lots of conversations from teens about it.

  3. Love it! I hope you get lots of conversation out of it 🙂

  4. Monica says:

    Here’s some ideas:

    For guys, take a look at GQ and Men’s Health. Notice that models are either RIPPED or skinny emo guys. Maybe point out the actors that look like “regular guys?” (Think: King of Queens and a lot of comedic actors, though a few have recently slimmed down.) Guys get a lot of encouragement to have these killer abs and muscles, so some bulk up with steroids or unhealthy diets/exercise.

    Don’t forget the skinny girls! I would love an illustration with a fat girl, skinny girl, and in-between, with a caption like: “Which of these girls is sick from her weight? Who cares?” Something like that, but better 🙂 I’ve heard from some skinny girls who get a lot of “eat a sandwich”, etc. when they are just naturally thin.

    • I’m pretty much looking for pre-made visuals, already explained by the artist.

      You can’t really see the whole illustration, but the red headed skinny girl calls herself “awesome sized”…I have more skinny/thinner girls in the display. I had a really easy time finding diverse body types as far as the women went. It was nice to see.

      As far as the men, though, one image…Which is too bad.

  5. Jo says:

    I think this is AWESOME! If nothing else, you’re putting something out there that can make people think about not only themselves, but how they see other people. And who knows – this could be just the thing that encourages someone to treat themselves more kindly. 🙂

  6. Anna says:

    This is amazing! I’m so glad you’re doing this for your teens! Too bad so many grown ups still don’t get it.

  7. Shannon says:

    Awesome. Love. Perfect. See, you have reduced me to one word declarations! As always, I am inspired by you.

Leave a Reply

