Libraries/Librarians/Books:

♥ I may steal this entire Body-Positive storytime idea from Elizabeth at Born Librarian. Really. So rad. 

♥ It drives me nuts that the worst thing that could happen to alternate universe-Donna Reed in It’s A Wonderful Life is that she ends up an unmarried librarian. Luckily, librarians also have Batgirl and Giles from Buffy representing them. Read more about this in NPR’s Libraries’ Leading Roles: On Stage, On Screen, and in Song.

♥ I love that people are talking about what the ladies are reading on the Orange is the New Black show. Many of the literary references are documented here and here.

Not Libraries:

♥ I am having children never. People think that’s weird for a children’s librarian, which is fine. I mean, I like children, I just don’t want them in my house. Sometimes people have a problem with child-free people.

 I’ve seen pictures of Hilda before, but didn’t know much about her. Do you know about zaftig pin-up girl, Hilda? NSFW-ish.

What I’m reading:

♥ I just finished reading the Orange is the New Black memoir and I adored it. It’s very different from the TV show, but really worth reading. Oh, and you can read about the differences between the TV show and the book here.

♥ Listening to Justin Vivian Bond’s memoir, Tango: My Childhood, Backwards and in High Heels on audio. It’s hilarious and heart string-pully so far. I love v’s voice. I’d like to mention, again, that I sat behind Justin at the Lammy awards and it rocked my world.

♥ A dystopian YA novel that I’m very close to abandoning. Maybe I’m just sick of this genre. I need dystopian detox.

♥ Perception Magazine (the digital version is free!)

What I’m listening to:

What I’m watching:

♥ A 1971 Sally Field movie called Maybe I’ll Come Home in the Spring (the whole thing is on YouTube, as well):

What I’m coveting: 

♥ Is it cheezy that I want this? I want this ♥ One of these cuffs for my Metrocard ♥ A trip to the Neon Boneyard (maybe at ALA Vegas?) ♥ 1960 TV stars Paper Dolls ♥ Something to keep me safe on the streets of NY (I think I seriously need this and it’s super cute) ♥ I want you to make me a planet necklace! ♥ A Ronnie Spector and Bjork button ♥ This, so I can cosplay Fionna all the time ♥ These preposterous earrings ♥ Maybe the prettiest necklace ever ♥

Etc.

Marceline from Adventure Time

Eleanor and Park by Simini Blocker. Dreamy.

Annnnd, I’m out.

If you have a Link Round-Up list of your own, share it in the comments.

Tune in Monday for another Just 5 Things thing with my favorite zine writer.

~Love and Libraries, Ingrid

Facebook ♥ Twitter ♥ Buy Me a Coffee ♥ Libraries Changed My Life ♥

About magpielibrarian

Youth Services Librarian, Mediocre Crafter, Urban Magpie, Glitter Addict, and Worshiper of Ridiculous Outfits, Emerging Leader 2012, Former Rainbow Book List Member, and GLBT RT Director-at-Large! This is what a librarian looks like, kids.

6 responses »

  1. Cheers to a fellow childfree librarian!

  2. I am not currently in a relationship and I go back and forth about wanting kids. I hate when people tell me that I am selfish for not wanting kids. Let me tell you, I love my free time & I think you’re just jealous soccer mom. (not you!) sorry for the rant.

    The Eleanor and Park art is gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

