Adam Gnade is the jam. I’ve told him as much. Repeatedly. He is the author of many zines, several of which I own and have read. My favorite, however, is The Do-It-Yourself Guide to Fighting the Big Motherfuckin’ Sad. I’ve already talked about how much I love this zine and how much I need it, so I feel like I don’t need to go on and on about its magnificence again. Adam’s zine has become even more necessary to me in the recent months. All I can say is, buy it. If you don’t need it, you know someone who does. It’s self-helpy without being saccharine or impractical. It will make you feel better. Promise.

I’m delighted that this non-librarian allowed me to micro-interview him for this decidedly very librarian-y blog.

And now, Just 5 Things with Adam Gnade:

More on this:

1. Q: What food would you eat from now until forever?

A: Fresh blueberries and moonshine. No doubt.

2 . Q: What’s currently your favorite book?

A: Nathalia Crane‘s novel The Sunken Garden because part of me wants to be shipwrecked on an island off North Africa and never see anyone ever again. Of course the other part of me is smarter and stronger than that and kicks the ass of the first me on a regular basis.

3. Q: Who is your least favorite literary character?

A: Amory Blaine from This Side of Paradise. Blaine needs to be kicked where it counts by the protagonist of The Sunken Garden. She would massacre him. No contest.

4. Q: What fictional world would you live in?

A: Nathalia Crane’s The Sunken Garden when I’m mad at the world. A Moveable Feast when I’m back to me again.

5. Q: If you could have any super power, what would it be?

A: Turning water into moonshine or maybe the ability to set myself on fire and burn down to ashes and rise up again. Either or.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

So, I read up on Nathalia Crane and I’m totally fascinated. You’ll have to excuse me, Adam, for not knowing about her. Remember, I’ve been fully ensconced in kid/teen literature for a long, long while. But, I’m going to try and make time for this author. It seems like she’s worth it.

~Love and Libraries, Ingrid

P.S.: OH CRAP, EVERYONE. I just realized that this is my 300th post! Crazy cakes!

♥ Facebook ♥ Twitter ♥ Buy Me a Coffee ♥ Libraries Changed My Life ♥

About magpielibrarian

Youth Services Librarian, Mediocre Crafter, Urban Magpie, Glitter Addict, and Worshiper of Ridiculous Outfits, Emerging Leader 2012, Former Rainbow Book List Member, and GLBT RT Director-at-Large! This is what a librarian looks like, kids.

Leave a Reply

