Programming makes me pretty darn tired. It’s not the crowds, the kids, or the activities. It’s the nervousness. I am one high-strung individual and I really want things to go right. When it comes to programs that I’m used to, like Toddler Time or Babies and Books, I’m usually kind of stressed, but I have a really good autopilot that kicks into gear. I’ve been doing programs like that forever, from even before I was a librarian. Bigger, one-off programs, like this Diary of a Wimpy Kid party, attract large crowds. Just slap the name Diary of a Wimpy Kid on something, and you’ve got a guaranteed audience. You also get kids with huge expectations. They want to have a good time and you better provide.

Tickets for the party. No camps. Don't even try it.

Tickets for the party. No camps. Don’t even try it.

I’ve been planning this party for around a month. I knew I wanted to give a quiz, in order to reward the die-hard Wimpy Kid fanatics (you can access and steal that quiz here). Other than that, I had bopped around a few ideas, like a Shame Game (which is a kid’s version of Never Have I Ever) or Pin the Booger on the Nose. I abandoned both those ideas. Don’t ask me why. In the end, I offered the children a quiz, a diary decoration craft (you can see the un-decorated ones here), a game of Hot Cheese (which is just like Hot Potato, but with a yellow bean bag I drew Swiss cheese holes on), and a Photobooth. Then, we had a raffle for a bunch of prizes, which were mostly books, but also included a Chronicles of Narnia game and one of our Diary of a Wimpy Kid giant cut-outs.

Here's me at our Photobooth. I had a coworker, Leigh, man that station. She was able to print out the portraits right away, which was cool. The kids got to take the pictures home.

Here’s me at our Photobooth with our cut-out prize. I had a coworker, Leigh, man that station. She was able to print out the portraits right away, which was cool. The kids got to take the pictures home. I also offered a selection of paper props, like this pirate hat.

Almost every activity earned the kids raffle tickets. Everyone got a ticket just for walking in. Kids who got 5 or more questions right on the quiz received three tickets. If you got 100 percent correct, you earned ten. I had a summer volunteer judge the decorated diaries. We had three prizes for the journals: Fanciest, Silliest, and Most Unusual. All of the winners got five tickets tickets for that. Last, we had three rounds of Hot Cheese (don’t get the cheese touch!), and winners of that game also got five tickets.

All in all, is was a hectic hour, but kids seemed happy. I got lots of “When are you going to do this again?” and “Can we play Hot Cheese again?” So, I’m going to call it a success and take a nap.

Here are two of the certificates I awarded to some of our winners:

Quite an honor.

Quite an honor.

You could put this on your college resume, kid!

You could put this on your college resume, kid!

All of the journals said Diary of a _______ Kid on them. These are some suggestions for what adjectives they could put in that blank.

All of the journals said Diary of a _______ Kid on them. These are some suggestions for what adjectives they could put in that blank.

I had a stack of photobooth props for the kids. I let the kids who didn't win prizes take home a prop.

I had a stack of photobooth props for the kids. I let the kids who didn’t win prizes take home a prop.

BTW, I got the photobooth props here and here.  I printed them out and glued them onto cardstock. Boom. Done. You could also tape the props to popsicle sticks, but, you know. Meh. Tired.

Oh, and last, this is the song I played during Hot Cheese. It made the kids all frantic and silly:

Hey guys, guess what? Summer Reading is almost over! Can I get an Amen up in here?

~Love and Libraries, Ingrid

About magpielibrarian

Youth Services Librarian, Mediocre Crafter, Urban Magpie, Glitter Addict, and Worshiper of Ridiculous Outfits, Emerging Leader 2012, Former Rainbow Book List Member, and GLBT RT Director-at-Large! This is what a librarian looks like, kids.

4 responses »

  1. Sounds like a success. A coworker and I are going to plan a Wimpy Kid program for November, so I’m taking notes. 🙂 How many kids did you have in attendance? Did you have registration, or was it a drop-in? Thanks.

  2. […] a Wimpy Kid party!  Check out her individualized marble composition books, her quiz, and all the games she […]

  3. […] My Diary of a Wimpy Kid Party is Over, but I’m Still Really Tired by Ingrid at The Magpie Librarian […]

Leave a Reply

