Yup, kids, I’m still working on my Banned Books Week displayFor this component, I wanted to put messages next to the actual books, so that when teens and others were browsing the stacks, they’d get thinking about banned books and censorship.  I thought the messages were pretty jokey, but patrons, mostly adults, have been taking them pretty seriously.

Here are some reactions I’ve gotten:

Since when has this library started banning books?

What’s wrong with Mark Twain?

But I loved Harry Potter!

How many books has the library banned?

Oh dear. But they’re talking about censorship, right? So that’s a good thing, right?

Take a look at some of the signs I’ve put up around the teen section:

No challenges for this book, as far as I know, but it's got the gay in it, so it's just a matter of time.

No challenges for this book, as far as I know, but it’s got the gay in it, so it’s just a matter of time.

A teen sincerely told me, "It's true. It got me so into Wicca." So there you go, conservatives.

A teen sincerely told me, “It’s true. It got me so into Wicca.” So there you go, conservatives.

The Gossip Girl books, which I unabashedly adore, met challenges in 2006, 2008, and 2011.

The Gossip Girl books, which I unabashedly adore, met challenges in 2006, 2008, and 2011.

This book gets challenged a lot, but they still made me read it in school. Yo, this book is mad depressing.

This book gets challenged a lot, but they still made me read it in school. Yo, this book is mad depressing.

Leave Toni Morrison ALONE!

Leave Toni Morrison ALONE!

I also put some of the signs directly in the stacks:

And that's how you know it's good.

And that’s how you know it’s good.

I’ve got one more post on this display coming up. Until then, share you favorite banned books with me? Miss Ingrid wants to know.

~Love and Libraries, Ingrid
♥ Facebook ♥ Twitter ♥ Buy Me a Coffee ♥ Libraries Changed My Life ♥

About magpielibrarian

Youth Services Librarian, Mediocre Crafter, Urban Magpie, Glitter Addict, and Worshiper of Ridiculous Outfits, Emerging Leader 2012, Former Rainbow Book List Member, and GLBT RT Director-at-Large! This is what a librarian looks like, kids.

12 responses »

  1. […] Books Week, and I’m always on the lookout for creative displays. This year I was drawn to a certain NYC librarian’s ironic warning labels. I’ll bet if we printed “THIS BOOK WILL ROT YOUR BRAIN” on more book covers, we […]

  2. Jo says:

    LOVE it! BBW is one of my favorite displays to do — I always feel so subversive. 😉

    I put books in cages this year in one of our displays.

  3. […] Origami Yodas are not the only display going on where I work.   Ingrid is crushing it with her Banned Books Display.  Some patrons may be taking the signage a little too literally, but censorship has definitely […]

  4. We’re doing blind date with a banned book here this year. Books all wrapped up in brown paper with only the reasons for banning listed on the front.

  5. Why am I not surprised to find your posts linked up with all the other awesome #BBW displays? 😉 I was looking for more tag ideas for my own display!! It’s good to see people interested in this. I know my kids are all curious as I set up my display but of course, God forbid, should they read anything except for the sign 😉

Leave a Reply

