My coworker Leigh and I took a little walk beneath our library. Five floors beneath our library. I was pretty creeped out as I had heard lots of stories about…things…that have gone on down there. One of the stories that’s been verified concerns a nice little raccoon guy who broke into the library and who, thankfully, I’ve never met. Other tales I’ve heard have been harder to verify. I can’t tell if staff is just trying to mess with the new girl (me) or what.

In any case, real creepy crawlies or not, the decks below my library definitely freak me out:

One of the first things I noticed in the basement decks was this creepy clown graffito. Darkness? Clowns? I should have probably turned back.

One of the first things I noticed in the basement decks was this creepy clown graffito. Darkness? Clowns? I should have probably turned back.

The freaky clown was right near this.

The freaky clown was right near this message, which made me feel as if someone definitely didn’t want me down there. 

One of the sites I saw below the building was what may or may not be a train station. Leigh says that results were inconclusive regarding whether or not it was ever intended to be a functioning station or not. I am standing on what might be a platform that leads into a well that might have been meant for a subway train.

One of the sites I saw below the building is what may or may not be a half-built train station. Leigh says that historians inspected it and results were inconclusive regarding whether or not it was ever intended to be a functioning subway station. I am standing on what might be a platform that leads into a well that might have been meant for a subway train.

The ceiling gets very low in some spots, and even though I'm only a little over 5 feet tall, I had to practically double over to get through.

The ceiling gets very low in some spots, and even though I’m only a little over 5 feet tall, I had to practically double over to get through this particular tunnel.

What are these chairs? Why are they in dirt? Why does it get colder right in this spot? I couldn't wait to get away from this corner of the decks.

What are these chairs? Why are they sitting in dirt? Why does it get colder right in this spot and this spot alone? I couldn’t wait to get away from this corner of the decks.

I love my library, but seriously, this section looks like it came out of a horror movie. Very Saw IV.

I love my library, but seriously, this section looks like it came out of a horror movie. Very Saw IV.

Get me out of here!

Get me out of here!

So, why were Leigh and I poking around our library’s sub-basements? Well, we’re revisiting the story of Agatha Cunningham, of course. If you don’t know about Agatha, here’s a short movie that some former interns, Roger and Peter, made before I started working at Central library.

Watch at your own risk.

And don’t venture below the library alone:

~Love and Libraries, Ingrid

P.S. There’s not a lot of available information on the partial subway station, but there’s a little on it here and here.

About magpielibrarian

Youth Services Librarian, Mediocre Crafter, Urban Magpie, Glitter Addict, and Worshiper of Ridiculous Outfits, Emerging Leader 2012, Former Rainbow Book List Member, and GLBT RT Director-at-Large! This is what a librarian looks like, kids.

6 responses »

  1. AH! I can’t wait until work is over to read about your potential library ghost. Those things always freak me out but also make me want to meet the ghost!

  2. Are you doing Halloween tours for patrons?

Leave a Reply

