In case you’ve been wondering why my blog posts have become fewer and fewer, it’s because I’ve been Rainbow List-ing like a boss. Now, you can see what our committee has been up to here, as we’ve announced our 2014 nominees.

I did a meme thing.

I did a meme thing.

A librarian in ALATT mentioned that these titles are very difficult to locate in public libraries, and she’s right. If you’re a librarian with any buying power or control over collection development, please consider adding these titles. Even if you think your community doesn’t have LGBTQ* citizens (which, you know, isn’t even possible), you need these titles. Don’t let your collection be the one that totally lacks in diversity! It’s embarrassing. Don’t be that library. The members of the Rainbow List have made it easy for you by selecting some of the best LGBTQ* titles of the year.

I’ve talked about some of the titles I’ve read thus far, if you’re looking for some more information about some of the nominees:

♥ If You Could be Mine, by Sarah Farizan

♥ The Culling  by Steven Dos Santos

♥ Better Nate than Ever by Tim Federle

♥ Pantomime by Laura Lam

♥ Branded by the Pink Triangle by Ken Setterington

Malinda Lo talks quite a bit about diversity in Young Adult literature, so I thought I’d point out the diversity in our Rainbow List nominees. While all of these titles promote diversity simply by having a significant amount of LGBTQ* content, I thought I’d single out some of the works that feature prominent characters who are People of Color (POC) (Be aware, I have not read all the nominated books yet):

♥ Freakboy by Kristin Elizabeth Clark ♥  If You Could Be Mine by Sara Farizan ♥ The Summer Prince by Alaya Dawn Johnson ♥ Two Boys Kissing by David Levithan ♥ Archenemy by Paul Hobin ♥ Proxy by Alex London ♥ The Elephant of Surprise by Brent Hartinger ♥

Again, this is not a complete list. I’m reading as fast as I can! That said, I’d love to see less titles about middle-class, white, gay boys and more nominees that include lesbian, bisexual, trans*, genderqueer, and intersex characters, as well as more protagonists who are people of color.

I hope our list of nominees is helpful to you, and I can’t wait to see who makes the final cut. Get reading, librarians!

Any questions? Fire away.

~Love and Libraries, Ingrid

About magpielibrarian

Youth Services Librarian, Mediocre Crafter, Urban Magpie, Glitter Addict, and Worshiper of Ridiculous Outfits, Emerging Leader 2012, Former Rainbow Book List Member, and GLBT RT Director-at-Large! This is what a librarian looks like, kids.

Leave a Reply

