I’m so excited about my top five blog posts of 2013, I can hardly contain myself! 

Let’s take a look back on the year that was on this tiny, sparkly, hole-in-the-wall blog.

My fifth most read post of 2013 is Cats (and Librarians) Against Cat Calls, where I tried to combat sexual harassment in the library. I love making library displays and I’m glad that you like to look at them.

cats against catcalling

I like images like the upper one, because it helps to break down the difference between compliments and harassment.

Though I wrote it in 2012, Please Don’t Say This to a Librarian is my fourth most popular post. I’m glad you still like it or love to hate it! Read with caution, as comments from “Zach” may send you into a lady-rage tailspin. It looks like sexual harassment will always be a hot topic on this blog.

Zack, where've you been? You never write. You never call.

Zach, where’ve you been? You never write. You never call.

Number three is pretty much a joke post, playing off the misguided notion that the job of a library is somehow relaxing. Check out DAFUQ You Say to Me? CNBC Calls Librarian one of the Least Stressful jobs of 2013.

spa-gif

My second most popular post is maybe one I shouldn’t have written. I knocked out this sucker when I was still trying to understand the hierarchy of the library world. I was poorly navigating the “rockstars” and Movers and Shakers and the haters and the egos. Am I still mad that a self-proclaimed library guru called me a homophobe and doesn’t understand cultural appropriation? Yeah. Pretty much. Half of my “supporters” in the comments are people I simply don’t agree with anymore. They trash me on Twitter pretty much on the regs and it’s just something I deal with. Do I still feel like women are being silenced in the library world. Fuck yeah, I do. Take a look at this hot mess of a blog post, if you dare.

And now, I give to you, my seven readers, my most-read post of 2013: What’s a Library? Here’s where I interacted with one of the most out of touch people I’ve ever met, Michael Rosenblum. He had a bone to pick with libraries. Not that he’d ever been to one.

I’ve mentioned again and again how hard this year was on me. Anyone who has lost a parent knows that I have zero idea how to communicate how downtrodden I am. Writing was good for me, though, and I’m glad you were all around to read what I had to say.  I live for your comments and emails, so keep ’em coming.

What do you want to see on this blog in 2014? What don’t you want to see?

~Love and Libraries, Ingrid

About magpielibrarian

Youth Services Librarian, Mediocre Crafter, Urban Magpie, Glitter Addict, and Worshiper of Ridiculous Outfits, Emerging Leader 2012, Former Rainbow Book List Member, and GLBT RT Director-at-Large! This is what a librarian looks like, kids.

2 responses »

  1. Erin says:

    Thank you for all you have done this year, reading your blog is always a highlight of my workday! I admire your strength and your voice and your ablility to speak up, I am still working on that skill. I look forward to next year and all the wonderful things I will learn from you!
    I hope you have a marvelous and glitter filled new year!

Leave a Reply

