Each month, my goal is to make and display a sign with an early literacy tip on it. I prop this sucker up right behind the children’s desk. This is my second and it’s based on something I feel pretty strongly about:

Often at my library, I’ll see a child pick up a book, eagerly asking their mother/father/nanny/babysitter/whoever to read it to them. My blood boils when I hear a reply like this: “But we have that book at home!” or “We read that all the time!”

So? Who cares? Read it again!

Not only do I think it’s discouraging to a child to hear that they can’t read a book they’re interested in, but there are many benefits to re-reading (or re-hearing/re-listening to) a story. Any children’s librarian worth her cardigan knows that kids learn through repetition. Re-reading is a great way to learn new words and increase self-confidence. If your child loves a book, that’s a wonderful thing! You want them to love to read and be read to. So you have to read Pete the Cat over and over again. Big deal. You’ll live. It’s a small price to pay for raising a child who loves to read.

So quit complaining and just read it again, already.

~Love and Libraries, Ingrid

♥ Facebook ♥ Twitter ♥ Buy Me a Coffee ♥ Libraries Changed My Life ♥ Librarian Wardrobe 

About magpielibrarian

Youth Services Librarian, Mediocre Crafter, Urban Magpie, Glitter Addict, and Worshiper of Ridiculous Outfits, Emerging Leader 2012, Former Rainbow Book List Member, and GLBT RT Director-at-Large! This is what a librarian looks like, kids.

8 responses »

  1. Meghan says:

    I know, I know. But sometimes they want to read the *worst* books over and over again. Parents are human too, Ingrid! We have our limits. We are fallible. We can love literacy and try to get our kid to read a different book…

  2. daleinqueens says:

    When I worked with preschool children, that was something I told parents. I would also advise them to read a book first to be sure that they would want to read it hundreds of times, as it really is annoying to read a book over and over if you didn’t like it in the first place.

    When my brother (20 years younger than me) was about three, someone read The Little Prince to him. It might have been me. My mother and I were reading that book to him until he could read it himself. It’s a long book to read over and over.

    Love the sign and the idea of sharing tips!

  3. I love this and my staff was just talking about how to better get early literacy messages out. Someone suggested posting signs in the department and I love the idea of one easy tip that gets changed out each month. Thanks for sharing!

  4. literacious says:

    I’m definitely going to do this in my library! I’ve been trying to figure out a way to post early literacy tips in our department for parents! Thanks!

  5. Rachel says:

    Reblogged this on Library Mom and commented:
    As the mom of a Toddler, I know how annoying it can get to read the same book over and over and over again. I get new books from the library so I don’t have to, but after I return them, he picks up the same one. As a librarian, as the Magpie librarian reiterates here, re-reading a book builds enjoyment of reading, understanding of the words, and of course vocabulary. So re-read stories to your kids even if it is the 100th time you’ve read it.

Leave a Reply

