Me before every teen program

I consider myself 3/4 children’s librarian and 1/4 teen/YA services. I feel like I could knock out a Toddler Time or a Babies and Books with absolutely no notice (sometimes I have nightmares that the toddlers come to my apartment at 3 AM demanding storytime, but, you know, I even nail it in my dreams) and I read tons of YA lit, so my teen-related Readers Advisory skills are pretty on point. I rarely, however, am asked to do teen programming. I am a creature of habit: The more practice I get, the more at ease I am. That’s why, every time I’m given a teen program, I like to have a total meltdown.

Last week, I was assigned a spot in our Teen Makerspace program.

panic

I decided to do a zine workshop. I think zines are one of the best DIY projects you can do with kids and teens. They can be about whatever you want. You can include poems or art or whatever you want. I brought in extra zines from my own collection both to serve as an example of what a zine can look like and as giveaways (zines are for sharing, right?), I practiced doing the whole turn one piece of paper into an 8-page zine thing (though most of the people who attended opted for the simple fold-down-the-middle and staple kind), I collected lots of collage materials (mostly old BUST magazines, comics, stickers from a generous Twitter buddy of mine, and pages from beat up design/fashion books I’ve collected for this very purpose), I offered Sharpies in a bajillion colors, and I stuck up fliers everywhere I could:

Part of the bottom got cut out. It’s also good to point out that I’m notoriously bad at making fliers. I feel like each one looks more awkward than the last.

Images shamelessly stolen from here, here, and here.

The only thing I needed now were some teens. Any teens.

My usual crew of teens was mysteriously absent from the library that day (or maybe not so mysteriously. It was very hot in the library and the city hasn’t turned on our A/C yet). I started seeking out teens throughout the day, but none of them seemed very interested in my program. With a pit in my stomach, I started setting up for the program just before 4 PM, when our library sadly looked very sparse in the teen area.

Suddenly, I located two tweens I kinda knew and begged them to come over to the program.

Tween: Are you lonely or something?

Me: Uh…yeah.

And then, you know how it goes. You get a couple of tweens working on a project, their friends walk by, see what you’re up to, and then they join in too. By the end of the program, I had a small, but very enthusiastic and talented group of ladies.

Here’s just a couple of pictures of what they came up with:

Sophia had already been working on this one. I lucked out by somehow finding a tween who already zined!

Sophia had already been working on this one. I lucked out by somehow finding a tween who already zined!

Isn't this a great title for a zine? Extra points for the feminist quote.

Isn’t this a great title for a zine? Extra points for the feminist quote.

Fancy ladies with Adventure Time comic bubbles! Genius.

Fancy ladies mashed-up with Adventure Time comic bubbles! Genius.

Solid last page.

Solid last page.

I was happy to get to gab with a bunch of tweens I sorta knew (but now know a bunch better) and one I had never even seen before. It’s nice to see the kind of comfortable, casual chit-chat that goes down when you provide some kids with some scissors and markers and glue sticks.

At the end of the program, they asked when we could all make zines again. That makes me a happy librarian.

~Love and Libraries, Ingrid

♥ Facebook ♥ Twitter ♥ Librarian Wardrobe ♥ Libraries Changed My Life ♥ 

P.S. I wanted to include my Free Zines sign, because I put glitter on it:

P.P.S. The clearly VERY talented Sophia sketched this picture of me and Finn and Jake from Adventure Time. I’m a lucky woman:

It was amazing how quickly she drew this!

It was amazing how quickly she drew this!

About magpielibrarian

Youth Services Librarian, Mediocre Crafter, Urban Magpie, Glitter Addict, and Worshiper of Ridiculous Outfits, Emerging Leader 2012, Former Rainbow Book List Member, and GLBT RT Director-at-Large! This is what a librarian looks like, kids.

5 responses »

  1. That’s a VERY fine flier. Good work spreading zine-making to the young’uns!

  2. bookishdesi says:

    Magpielibrarian! This is so uber cool!!!! I want to do a zine program with you sometime, pretty please?

  3. adrielahern says:

    Didn’t you collect examples of zines to use as examples? Where did you get them? I am doing a zine program for our middle school and need zines that are not only about birth control and pipe bombs. Any resources?

Leave a Reply

