RuPaul's words of wisdom now reside over the YA reference desk.

RuPaul’s words of wisdom now reside over the YA reference desk.

If you are one of the seven people who read this blog, you know that I like to do a “hot topic” display at the YA reference desk. I’ve covered body image, racism, LGBTQ  pride, and other topics. This time around, I decided to talk about the concept of self care. In addition to the display, I finally decided to add a pathfinder and a BiblioCommons list as well. I don’t know why it took me so long to add these other options. They seem like a necessary and logical addition to the display.

Look, everyone! I’m learning how to make stuff better.

I feel like Self Care is a touchy subject in general, not only with teens. There’s a need to never show weakness or ever ask for help when we’re overwhelmed. Yet, the best way we can be good to others is to first take good care of ourselves. I did some research on Self Care and came up with this pathfinder:

Within the pathfinder, I included a definition of Self Care and why it’s important, the 12 Steps for Self Care (I’ve also seen them listed as 10 Steps, but I saw 12 more often), and ideas for how one can take better care of themselves:

If you’d like the actual word document (I know the screencap of it is kinda blurry), just hit me up on my contact page.

The flip-side has a list of relevant library books, which again, can be found in this BiblioCommons list.

For the actual display, I borrowed/stole heavily from Calming Manatee, Emm Roy, and Skeletor is Love. Along with the search term “Self Care” I also used “Positive Affirmations”. I made an extra effort to find images featuring POC. Take a look:

Full Maya Angelou quote here if you are interested.

The image with the rainbow is from Hyperbole and a Half (which makes me feel better when I feel like crap) and the quote in the lower middle is from Audre Lorde.

Check the full Latrice Royale quote here. It’s my absolute favorite thing.

 

And here’s a view of the whole she-bang:

 

Every time I put out the pathfinders, they’re gone almost immediately. Since they’re double-sided, people aren’t using them for scrap paper (I don’t think!), so hopefully people are taking them and reading them, right?

~Love and Libraries, Ingrid

♥ Facebook ♥ Twitter ♥ Librarian Wardrobe ♥ Libraries Changed My Life ♥

 

About magpielibrarian

Youth Services Librarian, Mediocre Crafter, Urban Magpie, Glitter Addict, and Worshiper of Ridiculous Outfits, Emerging Leader 2012, Former Rainbow Book List Member, and GLBT RT Director-at-Large! This is what a librarian looks like, kids.

6 responses »

  1. Very nice. And way too often ignored. I used to live by the Kimya Dawson line “I got good at feeling bad and that’s why I’m still here.” Which is important, but way more important to get good at feeling good.

  2. Love, love, love this. I’m a HUGE advocate of personal wellness and self care and it is something I would love to see this discussed more in libraries and among librarians.

  3. steph says:

    Awesome display! Latrice Royale, Maya Angelou, and Treat Yo Self forever- looks great all together. 🙂

Leave a Reply

