Previously, I had made a Staff Picks display where all the Youth Wing librarians posted their favorite middle grade titlesWe had all picked several books that we put on display under little cartoon librarians I created In addition, I offered a little hand-out for the patrons which included all the staff favorites.

This time, we went a little more casual. Instead of several picks per librarian, everyone gets one spot. If you see your spot empty, give yourself a pat on the back for picking something that caught someone’s eye, and replace the title. In addition to middle grade titles, we included YA books as well.

First, I made new cartoons of all the staff (most of us new since the last time I tried this!), using Wee World and PicMonkey.

Here’s me:

Note the half-hearted smattering of pink glitter all over the floor.

This is actually pretty close to what my hair looks like now! Note the half-hearted smattering of pink glitter all over the floor. If anyone can find me mint green cowboy boots, I’d be happy forever.

And the rest of the staff (you can see that most of us are pretty into cats):

emmaname

Emma says she doesn’t like cats, and yet, she asked for Hello Kitty, which is kind of a girl who thinks she’s a cat or something. It’s complicated.

tatiananame rakishaname lisaname leighname Jasonname benname

I laminated all these pieces, along with letters spelling out S-T-A-F-F P-I-C-K-S. Here’s an example of one letter I made:

Yes, apparently I'm super into putting galaxy print on everything, thus putting me at least 2 years behind the trend.

Yes, apparently I’m super into putting galaxy print on everything, thus putting me at least 2 years behind the trend.

Here’s all the letters together, though, decidedly very shiny:

Once I laminate things, they are impossible to photograph.

Once I laminate things, they are impossible to photograph.

And here’s the display in action:

IMG_20141205_101223997

IMG_20141205_101409461

IMG_20141205_101415793

I love our YA room, obviously, but it’s oddly shaped, with awkward little spots that we’re never quite sure what to do with. This display is a way to fill-up this unused little alcove we have.

If you made a similar display, what would be your middle grade or YA pick? What little add-ons would you want on your avatar?

~Love and Libraries, Ingrid

♥ Facebook ♥ Twitter ♥ Librarian Wardrobe ♥ Libraries Changed My Life ♥

About magpielibrarian

Youth Services Librarian, Mediocre Crafter, Urban Magpie, Glitter Addict, and Worshiper of Ridiculous Outfits, Emerging Leader 2012, Former Rainbow Book List Member, and GLBT RT Director-at-Large! This is what a librarian looks like, kids.

8 responses »

  1. I love it! How eye-catching. These books will get checked out.

    I would include a waffle and a cat (of course) and maybe a TV because it’s my best friend. As for books, haven’t read a lot of YA or MG this year but Jenny Han’s new book would definitely be one of my picks and The Misadventures of the Fletcher Family which I loved a lot.

  2. Reblogged this on decidedly unsweet and commented:
    Ingrid has the best display ideas!

  3. BSBbabe says:

    I really appreciate that you added my diet coke. I wouldn’t be myself without out. 🙂

  4. Eden says:

    This is adorable. And makes me realize that I probably don’t spend enough time laminating things at work.
    I would totes want a Pokemon on my cartoon. And a Mockingjay. And probably a gallon of coffee.

Leave a Reply

