I’ve thrown a couple of toddler dances in the past year, and, I have to say, I purposefully put less effort into this one. The Valentine’s Day dance took over a month’s work, what with the bean bag toss, decorations, playlist, and photo backdrop. Then came the Halloween Dance that took about the same amount of work. This time, I really wanted to frame this event as a “family dance party”. No activities like bean bag tosses or toddler bowling: Just a low-maintenance party store-bought backdrop, a really good dance mix I made with the generous help of the librarians of the Storytime Underground Facebook page, and lots of a drums and shakers. I don’t know if it was a coincidence or the purposeful scaling back of the event, but I saw more adult participation this time around.

Here’s me and the backdrop, which is two layers of that mylar/tinsel curtain, plus some sparkly stars. I’m wearing a tinsel crown, but it’s impossible to see in my already candy-colored hair:

ingrid1

I cut out our volunteer, Brianna, as she signed a waiver to be on our library’s Facebook page, but not on my blog. She is FABULOUS, though, and the toddlers loved having a “big kid” at the party.

Why not add some pro-library propaganda to your photobooth backdrop?

Why not add some pro-library propaganda to your photobooth backdrop?

We had a smaller-than-usual, but enthusiastic crowd.

We had a smaller-than-usual, but enthusiastic crowd.

You can see all the pictures on our library’s family page. Brooklyn kids are so cute! Give the page a like when you’re there.

Overall, I was really pleased with this party. While our other dance parties consisted of, for the most part, adults sitting along the walls instead of dancing with their kids, I saw every single adult dancing with their child.

Here is the playlist of all the action-based songs I used. Our biggest hits were Tooty Ta and the Koo Koo Kangaroo songs (it’s worth checking out the Koo Koo Kangaroo videos so you can learn the dance moves beforehand):

I interspersed action songs with family-friendly dance songs, mostly from this mix.

I ended the party with this song, which made everyone mellow out a bit. Brianna, the volunteer, and I blew bubbles with our Gymboree bubble blowers:

As always, my partner in crime for this activity was my work buddy, Emma. You can see her picture with Brianna here.

~Love and Libraries, Ingrid

♥ Facebook ♥ Twitter ♥ Librarian Wardrobe ♥ Libraries Changed My Life ♥

About magpielibrarian

Youth Services Librarian, Mediocre Crafter, Urban Magpie, Glitter Addict, and Worshiper of Ridiculous Outfits, Emerging Leader 2012, Former Rainbow Book List Member, and GLBT RT Director-at-Large! This is what a librarian looks like, kids.

2 responses »

  1. Brittney says:

    This is sort of frivolous and apropos of nothing, but your dress is fantastic!

Leave a Reply

