I first saw this beautiful and breathtaking puppet on Ms. Anna’s blog, Future Librarian Superhero, and I knew I had to have him. Her. Zir. I haven’t properly considered this puppet’s preferred pronouns.  In any case, No-Name the Puppet came in our last materials order, and I’m in love. I can’t wait to use No-Name to introduce the Letter of the Day in storytime!

I am maybe a little too into No-Name

I am maybe a little too into No-Name

Ms. Anna named her puppet Fergus, and Folkmanis, the company that sells the puppet, named it Blueper. I’ve decided to eschew this puppet-naming pressure altogether and, instead, hold a contest to let our library kids name the puppet.

Here’s the sign letting everyone know about the contest:

I crossed out the word "fortune" by hand because I just don't have that kind of money, honestly.

I crossed out the word “fortune” by hand because I just don’t have that kind of money, honestly.

The form includes the following fields:

Your name:

Your age:

What should we name the puppet?:

Email/Phone number (we need to contact you if you win):

Do you like peanut butter?

Why do you like the library?

I’m going to go chill with No-Name, and I’ll get back to you when we’ve picked a name!

I'm like cat here, a no-name slob. We belong to nobody, and nobody belongs to us. We don't even belong to each other.

I’m like cat here, a no-name slob. We belong to nobody, and nobody belongs to us. We don’t even belong to each other.

~Love and Libraries, Ingrid

♥ Facebook ♥ Twitter ♥ Librarian Wardrobe ♥ Libraries Changed My Life ♥

ETA: No-Name is named! The winning name was Pogo and she’s a storytime success. Look for her in upcoming posts.

About magpielibrarian

Youth Services Librarian, Mediocre Crafter, Urban Magpie, Glitter Addict, and Worshiper of Ridiculous Outfits, Emerging Leader 2012, Former Rainbow Book List Member, and GLBT RT Director-at-Large! This is what a librarian looks like, kids.

2 responses »

  1. okramsey2 says:

    Reblogged this on Library Yotti.

  2. […] I suspect the reason you don’t see a lot about introducing mascots is that they mostly don’t need much introduction: if it’s a cuddly fun thing that starts coming to storytime regularly, does it need much introduction? I think you’ll find storytime kids accept it pretty easily. The fanfare I’m planning for Pi Monster is mostly for the sake of the adults and the older kids, who don’t take so easily to such things. However, if you want resources, the Magpie Librarian has a fine blog post introducing a storytime mascot: https://magpielibrarian.wordpress.com/2015/01/11/introducing-no-name-the-new-storytime-puppet/ […]

Leave a Reply

